We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, well equipped property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gayle Farmhouse

Front view, looking down the Wynd
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view, looking down the Wynd
Front view, looking down The Wynd Front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Front view, looking down the Wynd
Front view, looking down The Wynd
Front door
Lounge with cosy coal fire
Dining Room, seating 6 to 8 people
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double Bedroom with cot
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom with cot
Single Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Stairs
Bathroom with separate shower, large corner bath, washbasin and toilet
Bathroom with large corner bath, washbasin, toilet and separate shower
Bathroom with shower, large corner bath, washbasin and toilet
Gayle Beck, which is right opposite Gayle Farmhouse
Semer Water lake
Near Oughtershaw, south of Gayle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Gayle, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue G
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, well equipped property”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Three generations of us are just back from Gayle Farmhouse. Location wise it couldn't be better, situated within easy walk of Hawes and within the small, beautiful village of Gayle, near the ford in the river. The size of the property meant we had plenty of room to spread out. We have never stayed in a place that was so well equipped. Sometimes you read that a property sleeps six...only to find you are scrabbling around for cooking pots and pans of reasonable size. We were pleasantly surprised to find a utility room containing a freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer and ironing board. There was even a step provided to help our small granddaughter reach the bathroom basin. A tray of goodies had been left for our arrival, together with milk for a cuppa - most welcome after a journey of six hours! Ideal position in which to explore the area around and then return to peace and tranquillity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We hope to welcome you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K5633
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just got back from an amazing few days in the Yorkshire dales. We couldn't of asked for a better equipt cottage to stay at. Location was perfect and walking distance to local shops. Fresh eggs for sale right on the door step. Very happy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We hope to welcome you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianensyl...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hideaway”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A deceptively large cottage that was also warm and cozy. Very well equipped too. Plenty of hot water for when you return after a day out on the nearby hills. No mobile signal in the house but you can pick it up outside (if you want to that is!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your comments. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindacros...
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful homely place.”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We're just back from a few days in this little place, it was a fab time away, we went with 2 adults, 3 kids (aged 1, 2 and 9) and our dog, the property was perfect, very spacious, spotlessly clean, the owner has filled the house with homely touches to make your trip, plenty games, books, kitchen utensils, hot water bottles and information about the area, all our family settled in well, the area around is beautiful and filled with lots of activities to keep everyone including the dog entertained, will definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. It's very encouraging to know that people find the cottage homely. VH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfun88
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy and Comfy”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A few friends and I stayed here for 2 nights in June and it was great! The cottage can sleep many, is very cosy and comfy and located in a great location near Hawes in a tiny village called Gayle. The beds are so comfy and the lounge is so relaxing after a day of walking, with an open fire if you knew how to work it!
There is loads of information at the cottage about walks and attractions around, ample parking across the road in a yard, a little river that runs right nearby, and plentiful equipment for cooking and entertaining.
If anything maybe things are getting a bit old but I think it adds to its charm!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thanks so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing