We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, could do with some TLC”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Nest

Cosy bed with  topper and freshly pressed linen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy bed with  topper and freshly pressed linen
Lounge Fully equipped kitchen inc dishwasher oven and microwave sufficient for 4-6 place settings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Cosy bed with  topper and freshly pressed linen
Lounge
Fully equipped kitchen inc dishwasher oven and microwave sufficient for 4-6 place settings
Miles of unspoilt beach
The outside ground floor
Fully equipped kitchen
The bay
Filey seafront
The Italian Restraunt
Quirky statues on Bridlington roundabout
Miles of unspoilt beach Perfect to blow the cobwebs away!
Peaceful lake for a spot of fishing
Glorious dog friendly flat sandy beach
Cook at your leisure of eat in the cafe or pub within a stones throw .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alipbongo
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Standards - Hasn't been cleaned properly for weeks”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here over the recent Bank Holiday weekend and on initial impressions the Nest seemed relatively clean and tidy. However, after unpacking and then sitting down to lunch we noticed that the kitchen and living room floor was covered in black dog hairs, there wasn't an inch of the floor that didn't have a covering of them! The floor had definitely NOT be hovered or mopped in between the last guests staying and us arriving. On closer inspection it turned out the floor wasn't the only thing that was dirty, there was clumps of fluff, hair and dust behind all of the doors, there was splatters of food/drink down some of the units in the kitchen, the glass shelf in the kitchen was thick with dust, and the bathroom had definitely not seen a cloth for a while!!! Left feeling a little deflated we decided to ring the owner who initially defended her cleaner but said she would get them back that afternoon. We made ourselves scarce so that they could do what they needed to do and returned at 6.30pm expecting a nice clean fresh apartment.....wrong, the cleaners had still not been back. We rung the owner back again who made excuses for why the cleaners had still not returned and said that they would be 'there soon'. We felt that it was unfair of the owner to expect us to sit and wait until they arrived even though it would impact on our evening, when we had already given them sufficient time to come and clean it how they should've done in the first place! We ended up telling the owner that we would do it ourselves, which is what we did, we spent the next hour of our weekend away, cleaning the apartment......poor service

To top this off, the owner didn't even offer us an apology until it was pointed out that she had yet to do so.....

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
I am saddened by this review , especially as my reviews before and over a prolonged period are all positive and praise the clean and cosy apartment, with lots of clients returning throughout the year
I apologised immediately ,my cleaner returned and was sent away .
All seemed resolved after the refund was accepted , shame you felt it nessisary to sully my hitherto unblemished reputation perhaps that's why you didn't answer my follow up normal courtersy call.
Christine Boothroyd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, could do with some TLC”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Nest is a beautiful apartment in an ideal location. It was just what we needed for our 1-night stay. The owner is helpful and attentive. The Bay has almost everything you need for a long or short break - restaurant, pub, swimming pool, pharmacy (no shop is a shame but can't be helped) and just a short walk (15 mins) down a quiet footpath to the beach. The Nest is beautifully decorated with a lot of care and attention taken, however, it is now in need of a deep clean and some TLC in parts. The shower, for example, is leaking and mouldy in some areas, the duvet cover split in places, pillows stained, some of the glassware, cutlery etc dirty due to the shelves/drawers needing a thorough clean. The Nest is wonderful, let down, potentially, by the cleaning staff who turn the place around on behalf of the owner, which is a real shame.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of property
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
TLC to the rescue ! It's been a busy summer and although we have a rolling programe of maintinence , we thank you for pointing out these things to me I will act on your comments .
Glad you enjoyed your break !
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa r
1 review
“Lovely pet friendly bolt hole :)”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A fabulous little bolt hole. Very clean and well equipped. Will definitely recommend to friends and hopefully return again later in the year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess M
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted somewhere out of the way, to get away and relax and this was great. Everything we needed, Christine was great, and I'm really glad she sent me details about how to find the place as that would be the only problem, but thankfully she had sent me a message with details about how to get around the holiday village, and how to get into the apartment. The wifi was good, the now tv was good, the stuff around, restaurant, beach activities were all good, will hopefully go back again some time as it was just nice to get away from life! Would recommend, 100%!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
So happy you enjoyed my little apartment , nice to have people enjoy it as much as I do ! Thank you for such a lovely review !
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing