We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tastefully presented modern apartment and very...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 40C The Crescent

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Not1tocom...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Modern kitchen and bathrooms, although en suite extremely compact! Glen Gardens nearby for small children. Filey itself just lovely. Although aware in advance, we struggled with carrying luggage and shopping up to second floor and worried about smallest child on stairs. Second bedroom felt chilly although heater is provided. Only a 3-drawer chest of drawers for 3 children.

Double bed very small and settees extremely uncomfortable and leather cracked. The bits of leather patina from one sofa travelled right through the flat. Although a non-smoking flat, there was a smell of smoke - maybe from adjacent flat.

Flat is well presented but room sizes limit storage and circulation space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Filey itself
Liked least: Lack of comfort and storage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your comments. We have now added new sofas and in our children's bedroom we have a wardrobe as well as the chest. Our flat only sleeps five now, with a double and a triple bed, but we feel our guests will be more comfortable. Can only apologise for the smell of smoke. We have no smoking signs displayed but, as you say, it is difficult if the smoke is not coming from our flat. Completely understand - thank you for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieLeed...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tastefully presented modern apartment and very good location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The owners were very helpful and we really enjoyed staying in this extremely nice apartment close to all the amenities. There were 4 adults and 2 small children in our party, but unfortunately there was a lack of wardrobe space in the family room, which is our only criticism.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not enough wardrobe space in family room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your helpful comments. We have now rearranged the furniture in our children's room to include a wardrobe and a triple bed. We recommend that our flat now only sleeps five, but we feel that guests will be more comfortable. Many thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPen89
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
“Disappointing- Not luxury!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Photos are very flattering. This accomodation is definitely not luxury!! Sea view only available when you step outside onto balcony, 2nd bedroom totally unsuitable for an adult -many beds but nowhere to hang anything and also boiler in this bedroom not mentioned in accom info!! Main bedroom not full sized double bed and en suite tiny!! Small wardrobe held only 5 coathangers for 3 people for 1 weeks holiday!! Nowhere to dry towels after dailyshower. Settees totally worn out and impossible to sit comfortably on them.
Unable to sleep or sit comfortably we left early!!
This accomodation is only suitabble for maximum 2 adults with children and is definitely not good value for money!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: situation
Liked least: sofas and bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
I'm sorry you had such a miserable holiday. I'm sure the weather didn't help. We have replaced some of our furniture and the new sofas are definitely more comfortable. Our children's bedroom now just has the triple bed and a wardrobe - leaving more room to play as well as somewhere to put clothes. We recommend that our flat sleeps a maximum of five. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good around value
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saddleworth, Manchester, uk
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location sea views and on a quiet street.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing