We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Stunning seaview on the walk to the beach (direct access) Living/dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Stunning seaview on the walk to the beach (direct access)
Living/dining Area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Entrance hall
Cottage from the front (it's the one with the red door)
Meadowside cottage taken from the meadow.
On-site swimming pool
On-site gym
More beach view en route to the Beach (via direct access)
Jetty onto Fishing Lake (in wildflower meadow). A great place for a glass of wine
View from Beach to Filey (which is an approx 40 min walk away via beach)
Hmm which way today
Dogs love it on the beach
A dip in the sea
Outside the pub area
Tennis Court
Play area outside the pub
Beach view towards Bempton Cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Morag S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a find we have had in this cottage, would highly recommend.

We booked this mainly due to previous reviews we read and the fact that the Bay Village is dog friendly.

The cottage is spotlessly clean and has everything you could need. Suzie the owner has thought of everything, from a lovely welcome pack to providing Netflix, games, DVD's, etc. She is also so good at keeping in touch after booking, supplying you with lots of information before arrival regarding the cottage, places of interest nearby, etc.

The location is fantastic, across from the cottage is a beautiful meadow and lake which is great for dog walking and you can also access the beach direct from the Bay Village.

You certainly won't be disappointed if you visit this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed the cottage and all it has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage has to be the best we've ever stayed in. From the moment of booking until after our holiday the owner kept in touch, answering all enquiries and making sure very thing was in order.
On arrival we were greeted with a very thoughtful and lovely hamper that included milk, wine, biscuits chocolate and other treats to help us get settled. What a fab gesture and certainly helped get the holiday off to a great start. The cottage itself was sparkling clean and well equipped with everything you could think off which certainly reduced the packing. The cupboards were well stocked with jams, sauces, salt, oil, washing and cleaning products so there's no need to take anything along with you.
All the linen was crisp and clean, along with lovely soft towels. We didn't need to use the spare beach towels that were left in case we had forgotten ours but nice to know they were there. If you have toddlers or children the cottage had plenty of children's toys along with buckets, spades and kites! There was also a high chair and cot sides available to use.
The cottage itself is spacious and it is a short walk to an onsite pub, Italian restaurant, pharmacy and small leisure centre. Although we didn't use the swimming pool or spa facilities it looked lovely and never overcrowded. The cottage is opposite a lovely meadow which has a lake that you can sit by and watch the wildlife.
There is a private path to the beach which I takes about 20 minutes but there is a golf buggy which is available to take you down should you need it. The beach is beautiful and clean.
Honestly and truly there isn't a better place to book than this cottage and this is down to the wonderful attention to detail by the owner. She has thought of everything!
We'll definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equiped
Liked least: The site could do with a small convenience shop but this didn't spoil the holiday.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you so much, your comments are really lovely. It's great to know you appreciated what the cottage and site have to offer and the effort we put into the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs29127...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, great base for exploring!”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We've just returned from a long weekend at Meadowside Cottage... The cottage is beautifully furnished with great attention to detail. The owners have thought of everything, from the welcome pack, to the 'little box of spares' and the abundance of family games, magazines and Netflix! We had fun filled days exploring the local area, then enjoyed chilled out family evenings in the comfort of the cottage playing games or outside playing boules.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you so much for your great review. It's really good to know you had a great time. It certainly sounds like you had fun and we're glad you enjoyed all the extras at Meadowside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeleta
1 review
“Best house we've used at "The Bay"”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We love "The Bay" and have stayed in many houses there but this is the best so far for position, cleanliness and all the extra supplies. Suzie definitely goes the extra mile, all the extra kitchen supplies you might need but don't know whether to take (foil, bags, cling film, kitchen roll etc) and toiletries in both bathrooms.
We visited with our extended family and there was plenty of space for everyone. Netflix and wifi were nice additions for some quiet, down time, even though the weather was excellent.
We will definitely use this house again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. It's great that all is appreciated and it makes us proud to receive feedback like this. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Carol...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a lovely stay at this wonderful cottage. Everything you could wish for and more. Lovely walks along the beach to filey and then returning to a comfortable cozy cottage to relax with a bottle of wine left for us in a welcome pack. The thought gone into welcoming guests to this cottage is second to non and many hotels could learn something from the owners of this cottage on how to welcome and look after guests. Sheer perfection

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you so much for your fab review. It's really lovely to hear such comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing