We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So much more than you expect”
other travellers have booked this property
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Stunning seaview on the walk to the beach (direct access) Living/dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Stunning seaview on the walk to the beach (direct access)
Living/dining Area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Entrance hall
Cottage from the front (it's the one with the red door)
Meadowside cottage taken from the meadow.
On-site swimming pool
On-site gym
More beach view en route to the Beach (via direct access)
Jetty onto Fishing Lake (in wildflower meadow). A great place for a glass of wine
View from Beach to Filey (which is an approx 40 min walk away via beach)
Hmm which way today
Dogs love it on the beach
A dip in the sea
Outside the pub area
Tennis Court
Play area outside the pub
Beach view towards Bempton Cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rwilking1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much more than you expect”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage brimming with thoughtful touches to make your stay more special. My family loved it and we can't wait to go back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2014
Thank you very much. It's great to know you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent autumnal break”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We (myself, partner and two dogs) stayed at meadowside cottage at the beginning of November. This was our second time at the bay, the first time we booked through horseasons however after reading various reviews of people who booked privately we decided to see what else was available.

We settled on meadowside cottage after reading the write ups of other travellers and was pleasantly surprised with Suzies prompt replies. We were especially impressed that we could bring our two dogs with us at no extra cost as this can occasionally bump up the price of a short stay.

Upon arriving at meadowside we immediately felt at home with the lovely furnishings, it's clear to see Suzie has put some real thought into the decor and seems to have every eventuality covered! It's the little touches when you go away that make a huge difference and Suzie has really thought this through.

With this being our second trip to the bay we already knew our way around however the cottage is in a great position for those first timers! The house backs onto a grassed courtyard which was great for letting the dogs out and at night time the garden is lit beautifully.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I'm pretty sure we will be returning in 2015.

P.s what would make the cottage even more amazing would be wifi, we along with the majority of travellers wouldn't mind paying a fee for this during our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We’re so glad you had a good time and it’s great to hear you’ll probably be back next year. We have been considering looking into wifi for a while so your comments about that are useful. We are going to looking into the possibility of getting wifi in the next few months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkefam...
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great base for exploring area”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Excellent house with everything you could imagine carefully supplied by Suzie.
The house was spotless and in perfect position in a lovely holiday setting.
The only fault was with the central amenities in that the pool was cold and the showers FREEZING - not good for 8 year old daughter.
Would certainly recommend this property and will automatically request a booking if in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, lovely location
Liked least: Poor amenities
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the house and setting. We are really pleased you liked it. I'm very sorry to hear about the issues you had with pool and shower temperature. I have been in touch with the leisure centre about this. Apparently they did have a problem with the settings on the shower one evening recently, which has been rectified. Our children haven't ever had any issues with the temperature of the pool, so it looks like this was hopefully a one off too. The leisure centre has, however, said that they have to keep the main swimming pool at a constant 29 degrees for swimmers. I have checked and this is in line with recommendations for a pool which is used for recreation and swimming. I will certainly be checking out the pool myself and shower myself this weekend. We'd love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildonor...
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend at Meadowside Cottage. What an absolute gem of a place this is. The cottage has been lovingly decorated and fitted out with everything you could ever need. The owners have thought of everything. There was a wonderful welcome basket awaiting us upon arrival which ensured we were not lacking in anything on our first evening. The cottage is spotlessly clean and perfectly equipped, with plenty of outside space and parking. The grounds are all very well maintained and litter free and despite the number of dogs staying in the area there was absolutely no fouling of the pavements or grounds. The cottage is easy to find on the main street and a short walk from the amenities and the beach. Just across the street is a lovely lake situated in a large meadow with a wooden jetty and under cover area with tables and chairs, ideal for an evening glass of wine or day time picnic. There is also a small grass football pitch where our son enjoyed playing with other like minded lads. We had a wonderful stay and felt very much at home. Our only regret was that we were only there for two nights. We intend to rectify that though and have booked a week long stay next Spring. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a real home from home
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your fab review. We couldn’t have hoped for nicer comments. So glad you’ll be returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howes46
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

had a lovely stay at this cottage,first time booked privatly as in the past booked with hoeseasons at the bay but will return again,just nice touches like the welcome pack and the toys for our pooch which we forgot make the difference,also the cottage is very clean,will recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how clean the cottage was
Liked least: no guest ales at on site pub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It's good to hear you had a good time and liked the cottage and extra touches. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future and thank you for recommending us to friends and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing