We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear of the cottage - BBQ & patio furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of the cottage - BBQ & patio furniture
Kitchen - dishwasher/washing machine/microwave/cutlery/pans/plates etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Rear of the cottage - BBQ & patio furniture
Kitchen - dishwasher/washing machine/microwave/cutlery/pans/plates etc
Hallway leading to downstairs toilet
Downstairs toilet
Downstairs toilet
Landing
View from the main bedroom window
Main bedroom - kingsize bed
Main bedroom - walk-in wardrobe & TV/DVD player
Second bedroom - twin beds
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Bathroom with rain head shower
Bathroom
Landscaped garden area to rear
Lounge/Dining open plan area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen P
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very clean and comfortable cottage in a lovely location. Very good facilities and well equipped. A bit of a walk to the beach but well worth the effort. Filey bay is a hidden gem and the cottage is ideally situated for exploring the general area. Both Whitby and Castle Howard should not be missed and the RSPB reserve at Bempton cliffs is also a must. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and comortable
Liked least: A mirror next to an electrical point would have been nice.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Repton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, clean, well equipped cottage with quality furnishings.”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Puddle Duck Cottage is a lovely, well furnished 2 bedroomed cottage, on the outskirts of Filey Bay resort. The cottage is full of quality fittings, the sofa was comfortable, the bathroom spotlessly clean with a nice powerful shower, and the kitchen well equipped. We really enjoyed our stay. We had a problem with a leak under the sink on arrival but this was dealt with efficiently and quickly.
The Bay resort was very clean and fairly quiet during our stay although there is ongoing building works. This didn't particularly bother us, although I do wonder how the limited facilities will cope with so many new houses being built. We visited the swimming pool and it was pleasant (although cold!) but not massive, it soon got too busy to be able to swim.
Enjoyed a nice meal at the John Paul Jones pub, not cheap but decent food. There was a lovely walk down to the beach, which was beautiful. Clean, sandy, quiet, wonderful.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and condition of the cottage
Liked least: Limited wifi access. Limited facilities that soon got over-busy despite the resort itself being fairly quiet.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19boots
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is a lovely place to visit and is close to Scarborough, Whitby , Bridlington robin hoods bay and lots of other quaint little towns had a brill time cottage is very cosy and very warm .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxandCha...
High Peak
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best yet!”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent a very relaxing few days here. This is a lovely cottage and has to be the cleanest and most immaculate private let that we have stayed in. The quality of the furnishing and decorative accessories really added to the comfort of the place. It is the first time we have stayed in this area and it was very convenient for visits to Scarborough, Filey and beyond. Would highly recommend this cottage, particularly for families as all the facilites you need are here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nearly everything
Liked least: The bathroom - not a fan of rain head showers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do have the best cleaner and we are so lucky that she only cleans our cottage and treats it like her own. Hopefully you will stay with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor m
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Puddle duck cottage was immaculate everything you could possibly need was there. It was home from home. The owner has made this a lovely property. We brought our children and they had a great time especially the pool which was open from seven am till eight pm.this is the second time at the bay and we will certainly be back.we only hope that when we come back we will be able to get puddle duck cottage again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We would love to have you and your family stay with us again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing