We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent standard”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Were just 30 steps off the seafront with no road-very peaceful
Private enclosed Garden
Enclosed Garden
Games Shed
Wetsuits/Surf boards
Fantastic bay for kayaking/surfing
Filey beach huts available for rent.
Great walk along the prom
30 Steps to the seafront-we've counted them!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne C
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent standard”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A second fantastic stay at Beach Approach Cottage! Once again the cottage was appointed to an excellent standard and it was good to see that the Proprietor continually strives to replace and enhance was is already great; this suggesting that repeat business is not taken for granted. The cottage was warm and comfortable throughout with all expected mod cons. Owing to the very good weather (for the time of year) we were afforded the opportunity of using the wonderful outdoor games room and even had cups of tea whilst sitting in the garden area. Will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you so much really appreciate your comments-glad you noticed the little changes-more planned for the future :)))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahmont...
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I knew the accommodation was going to be lovely from the reviews, but it actually exceeded my expectations. We instantly felt at home and found the cottage had ample space inside and out! If I'm honest we didn't want to leave :( the outside area is perfect if you have children, and great location for the beach. Highly recommend and will be back. Thanks again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: No dishwasher
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thank you very much I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midgetgem...
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely little hide away in great location”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We visited Beach Approach Cottage as a last minute booking when we saw it advertised on their Facebook page - and we're really glad that we did.

This is a very well equipped cottage with all of the home from home comforts that you'll need if you want to stay indoors and cook for yourself, or you're a short walk from town if you want to eat out.

The location of this cottage is ideal for those who want to enjoy the beach (it's over 5 miles long) . It's not on the front so there isn't any noise from the road, but you can still hear the sea. We went as a couple but it would be fantastic for a family as there is an outdoor games room, plenty of books, board games and DVDs for entertainment on rainy days (very thoughtful addition).

We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be coming back for another winter break.

I must also add that the booking was made with Kerry and she was incredibly helpful - nothing was too much trouble (even when I lost the booking details an hour before we were supposed to arrive) - it's great to deal with someone so pleasant - thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach
Liked least: Noisy bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thanks soo much we really love to hear your feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely relaxing accomodation, clean and well fitted out”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed with in January for a short weekend break, great accomodation, location is perfoect for the beach and seafront. Accomodation is very clean and well fitted out with everything you need for your stay. The accomodation is pet friendly and it is suitable for families with or without children. We would definatley book again, very helpful owner, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking time out to review your fab comments are very much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelwit...
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Dog-friendly short break”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here during Christmas and New Year, usually stay at 5leys -renamed The Landings now, right on the front,but they were booked up, so tried this cottage. Glad we did as we found this one better having the dogs as there is a contained garden.
The interior is just as good as the 5leys, very modern,clean and well equipped.
The outdoor games area is fab, might bring the teenage kids in the summer, they would love it.
Its only 5 minutes walk into the town from the cottage,there are a lot of steps up to the cottage but kept us fit.Its very quiet being away from the seafront, it ticked all our boxes,will return definitely.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
Thank you for your positive comments-I'm so glad you & your dogs enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing