We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely haven a stone's throw from the beach”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Murphy's Rest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah M
1 review
“A lovely haven a stone's throw from the beach”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Murphy's Rest is the perfect holiday retreat. The house is equipped with everything you could possibly need and is immaculate. We had a fantastic stay and will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Murphy's Rest. Please do consider us again for a future holiday. Kind regards Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hibbe...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent property in a lovely complex!”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A lovely well equipped two bedroomed house within the popular 'The Bay' complex.
Stay includes access to the leisure centre. The complex also has a bar and an Italian restaurant as well as a 10 min walk to the beach.

The area was quiet and it felt private even though there are lot of similar properties around and it's only a short drive to Filey itself. The house had everything we could possibly want and it was very clean. Would definitely recommend and we would return to 'The Bay' for a family holiday again. Thanks Louise!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review and kind words. We're glad you enjoyed the property and the site as much as we do. We would be delighted to have you back to stay for a future holiday. Kind regards Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorky516
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday house.”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house was so welcoming,very clean and we loved the seaside theme decorations. The kitchen had everything you would need .All the little touches were there ,games for every age group ,books and a good information booklet .Just one observation the two comfortable single beds seemed like they were on the smaller side. The site was very quiet at night which we appreciated . A lovely break and we will visit again .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. As far as we are aware the single beds are standard size but we will check, hopefully it didn't spoil a good nights sleep! We would be happy to welcome you again in future. All the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderer7...
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Murphey's Rest. The cottage is very comfortably furnished with everything you need for a home from home getaway. From booking to departure the process was effortless. The accommodation has a Tassimo machine, which isn't listed, so next time we shall take coffee pods. The only things to point out is the freezer is a, large ice box within the under counter fridge, so don't arrive with lots of frozen items. There is a wooden love seat & table set outside, but no outside dining table. However, the dining table is next to the patio doors so you still get the alfresco feeling (with less flies). All linens and towels are provided. We had a lovely time and the the owner was very accommodating and helpful. We have just booked a return visit for next month.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review and feedback provided. We're delighted you enjoyed the property and the fact you have booked to return makes us feel we are doing things right. Look forward to welcoming you back to stay! Thanks Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review of our property. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and found the house has everything your family needed. We'd be happy to welcome you again for a holiday in the future. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing