We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again ”
Review of TFI StandUps - CLOSED

TFI StandUps
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: TFi StandUps presents Friday Night Live featuring Top Professional Acts from the UK Comedy Circuit. Cabaret Style Tables. Late Bar. Fetch Your Own Drinks Service available all night. Advance Ticket Booking strongly recommended. All shows: Doors 7.30pm - Show 8.15pm prompt.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

This was the worst night of my life . Acts were good but the organiser was an arrogant miserable obnoxious man with no manners . When i complained the response was if i didnt like it dont bother coming again . The venue was very small and no tables for drinks and very warm .

Thank Bertie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Guest Relations Manager at TFI StandUps, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

ALL (not some) but ALL of the Comedy Acts were good - which is the point of the event. Some venues don't have tables due to capacity limitations. Some places are large - some places are small. Some venues put the heating on in winter. Some people will complain about anything, even if there's nothing to complain about - the absence of which then becomes a reason to complain. These people don't like it when someone answers back with a perfectly sensible suggestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

We stumbled across this place by chance but thoroughly pleased we did. Had a great night. All but one act was brilliant. The other just wasn't our cuppa tea - but that's comedy for you.

Agreeably the venue is tired and in need of refurbishment but as one of the previous responses say this isn't the fault of the organisers. That said they make an effort making a bad room look nice by candlelight.

We're gutted that we are going to be aware for the next one but will definitely be coming again - and bringing friends.

Thank barwickSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at TFI StandUps, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Thank you for your kind review. TFi StandUps has addressed the growing concerns of our audience regarding the deteriorating state of the Royal Hotel, by moving the Comedy Club to a new location which is shown at the top of our Trip Advisor page. Same Cabaret style setting, same attention to detail and an even longer list of gig requests from a great number of the Top Acts currently touring the UK Comedy Circuit - but now at Social Club drinks prices. Details for all future events can be found via our website link. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you and your friends again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

the venue is old and tired and is in desperate need of refurb...this is the first comedy club I've been too and certainly won't be going again...maybe it's just not my cup of tea but no one in our party was entertained, however everyone else at the venue (they all seemed like regular attendees) seem to thoroughly enjoy it!

Thank nikkif53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Owner at TFI StandUps, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

As you say, maybe Comedy isn't your cup of tea and as you also say, the rest of the audience thoroughly enjoyed themselves and many of them were new comers like yourself. That being the case then it rates as somewhat better than your 'average' rating. As the Promoter for the events we do agree with you on the condition and upkeep of the venue, but regrettably there is nothing we can do about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Been here twice and loved it both times, well run, cheap drink and funny comedians. Reccomend if you are in the area, you won't go wrong.

Thank BrianHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We have attended The Comedy Lounge on many occasions and have introduced some friends also. It is an absolutely fantastic night out. We would definitely recommend others to come along. We have never been left disappointed and always laughed all night long!

Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TFI StandUps also viewed

 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing