We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St James' Hotel, Grimsby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St James' Hotel, Grimsby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

A Corus hotel run by local "Grimmies", the St James' is a mixture of old fashioned and new....
Thankfully the new is beginning to outweigh the old!
Staff are ultra cheerful and friendly and the food's not bad at all... Plus you can usually get a deal on a room if you book ahead. We've just booked for a month ahead and got a double room for £41/night.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear John
I don't think you realise quite how much your comments mean to us...thank you so much for the feedback. It is so nice that guests can see a change, which we have made to the Hotel. I do understand that we have much work to complete, but this is a on going project.
The staff make up for the what the hotel lacks in decor in welcoming all guest to the hotel and we try to provide the best service we can and give good quality food.
Thank you so much for your comments
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    127
    102
    55
    58
See reviews for
56
92
30
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

What the hotel lacks in decor the staff certainly make up for it with excellent service! Was weary after reading other reviews but to be fair you pay for what you get. The hotel was good value for money, clean and breakfast was fab! All staff we encountered exceeded our expectations! Will be back when visiting family again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982godwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear 1982Godwin
Thank you so much for the comment that you posted to tripadvisor about the St James hotel and in particularly the service you recieved. Our aim is to make up for the tired looking decor in the Customer service we can offer.
I will pass on your comment to the staff.
Thank you again and i look forword in welcoming you back to The St James Hotel.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Staff were amazing organising my daughters wedding. Room was trimmed to perfection and looked stunning. Food was very good and served quickly and without fuss. Restaurant staff really good. Master of Ceremonies outstanding. Room looked amazing in the evening. Disco good but a bit loud. We would highly recommend the St James! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilaryhedison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Hilary
Thank you very much for you're review and I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your Day. Making our guests feel welcome is obviously of paramount importance and feedback such as yours gives us all a tremendous pleasure and keeps us positive.
We are very proud of our reputation for weddings and celebrations and comment like this make it worth while.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon when you’ve recovered from your hectic celebrations.

Kindest Regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed on 21st July 2012 for one night with my fiance, we had his mother staying in the next room. Hotel had large wedding partying into the night which meant restaurant was out of use. Rooms were cramped, dirty, smelly and dated, no towels were provided and neither were any toiletries for the bathroom, when we asked for shower gel sachets we were told they didnt provide them, but after speaking to the grumpiest male receptionist he begrudgingly agreed to give us a sachet each!!! tea coffe facilities in the room were awful and the bathroom was filthy, Breakfast next morning was mass produced and tasteless, only bonus was the yoghurts were quite nice!!! Would never go there again and for £120.00 it was a total rip off

Room Tip: Dont stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest

Firstly we thank you for bring to our attention your issues with regard to your recent stay with us here at St James Hotel.

We are aware that our main Restaurant was not available to your during your stay due to the Wedding party however our Crest Suite could have facilitated you. We do cater for Wedding or special occasions this is part of our business. We do state this on our web site that alternative dining areas as available to our guests.

May we say that our new arrival rooms are checked on a daily basis by our housekeeping team and cannot understand why there was no towels or shampoo in your bathrooms please accept our sincere apologies for this oversight. Our Housekeeping team, are very strict on the level of hygiene in our rooms however the ambience of the rooms are admittedly some what outdated. Moving on we are continuing our soft furnishing refurbishments which takes time.

Our breakfast buffet has always received high acclaim from our guests so to read your comment regarding our Breakfast this is quiet disappointing and hurtful we do take pride in our buffet and strive to give good service, tasty food verity and value for money.

We would think that £120.00 for two rooms one sole use for 3 person on a bed and breakfast basis is good value for money.

I was again up set to read the comment regarding the staff as many guests have positive comments to say about all our staff who work at the hotel. We pride ourselves on offering a friendly and professional attitude to all guests.

I thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention as it is the only way we can progress and meet our customers exceptions.

Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grimsby hotels

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here overnight in a family room it was a business/family visiting trip and the hotel was very reasonably priced for the 3 of us and the hotel itself is very well situated for shopping,1 minute round the corner is the main shopping centre. The room was dated but it was clean and tidy and had all facilities we required, they are in need of a facelift though just to bring it up to the more modern decor that people are used to nowadays.

It was a weekday so there were quite a few workmen staying in the hotel but this was not a problem at all, they did not affect our stay. The staff are all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble even when we asked for an extra pillow at 11pm,(there were 2 extras in the room) they were great with our 8 year old Son too.

Breakfast was lovely, the selection was great! I would stay here again if we needed somewhere cheap with the kids but not for a romantic break with my husband.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayle436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest

We thanks you for your feedback, it’s always good to receive reviews from our guests. We were delighted to learn that you and your family were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed we are upgrading our bedrooms and public area and many other facets of the property, we take all comment on board and we are continuing to upgrade the hotel and room facilities accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and assure you of our personal attention at all time.

Kindest Regards

Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
0.2 km away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.0 km away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
0.9 km away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grimsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.1 km away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Property: The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price range (per night): $58 - $105
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Hotel Grimsby England
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing