We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ok but could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleethorpes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ok but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I am basing this review on a stay in October when alot of the facilities are closed. So my score of 3 is based on what you can do for the time of year.
I would like to say that the caraven was in a great location, besed near the reception, shop and main entertainment area. The only down side was that we paid for a prestige caravan but the caraven looked nothing like the pictures on the web site. It felt kind of basic, clean yes but nothing special.
The other problem was that there wwas not much to offer, a small amusments in the middle a cafe to one side then the main show area to the other.
We have a 2 year old son and there was only a few rides for him in the amusements but we found way to loud for him.Also we timed one of the rides and it lasted for FOURTY SECONDS for a one pound ride - DISGUSTING.
The cafe which was next to the pool was ok good food and the drinks were not to pricey but that was it nothing else. It could have done with another restaraunt or another bar on site.
It was a bit of a trek to get to cleethorpes centre.First a good 20 min walk to the bus stop then 10 mins into cleethopres, but the buses only run every hour at night and after 9pm it was a 2 hour wait.
The good thing about cleethorpes it was alot cheaper than the haven site, amusements were half the price and lasted alot longer (some were only 20p), food and drink was alot cheaper as well.
I think it could be a great place to visit when all the facilities are open but at this time of year with a toddler and with the haven site being a little remote the break was a little boring.

Room Tip: Ask for a caraven near reception so you are close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    385
    213
    93
    87
See reviews for
869
72
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in march.

The site is massive and has a lot facilities on site.

The show bar is really big, however the music is really loud in there, not good if you want to chat within your group.

The worst thing about our stay was the caravan itself. The cleaners had done a real poor job of preparing the caravan for our stay; the floors were dirty, the cutlery, plates, saucepans and glasses were all dirty and/or a bit scummy.

The one time we used the grill, it broke.

Broken steps outside the caravan.

The beds are really noisy, however I've slept in worse.

We stayed in 111 which is in the waterside area. This area is frequented by a lot of ducks which unfortunately poo outside the caravan, this is bit smelly and can be a bit discussing, especially when playing outside with young children.

Our biggest mistake was not researching what we got in the caravan .i.e. HEATING; it's our own fault for not realising that the standard plus (I think that's what it was called) does not have central heating through out. So it's safe to say that during a March night it was a bit cold.

The stay was organised through the Sun newspaper and was worth the money we paid and I would recommend it to everyone.

Location is next to the pleasure island theme park and is a couple of miles from Cleethorpes attractions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed at Thorpe Park 16 March 2012 opening weekend. Had a 2012 prestige caravan with central heating which was essential due to the zero degree temps. Resort was clean and tidy, showbar was one of the cleanest I've been too. Very impressed by the pool - good changing facilities and a nice shaped pool and baby pool for kids - I imagine it will get very busy in high season though. Thorpe Park is very flat, ideal for someone with a disability (alot of Haven resorts seem to be on the edge of a cliff) Direct beach access - would be brill for the kids in the summer unfortunately when we were there it was hat, scarf and glove weather!!! Very nice park for a short break, would go again in high season to experience it with heat and sunshine. Best thing about the park was the staff - everyone we spoke to was happy and helpful - had a really good atmosphere, worst thing was as the caravan was brand spanking new they have forgot to turn on the gas, take wrapping off blinds etc. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Long beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DISNEYFANLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

A brilliant park for a family break. Location fantastic. Beach was a great surprise. The staff were the best l have come across at 6 haven sites visited so far. A plus

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitram64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at Thorpe Park in July with family as part of the Sun Holiday deal for three nights (Fri to Mon). I thought the Park itself was really good and there was plenty to do. The swimming pool was great and my son loved the slide. It was such a shame that due to the weather we could not use the slides or lazy river outside as it looked like good fun. The Park is situated right on the beach but we never went due to the non stop rain. Despite the weather we made the best of it and there are enough things on the Park to keep you entertained. We even played crazy gold in the rain! You do have to walk through a large amusement area to get to the restaurant and to the showbar but you don't have to use them. We didn't despite having young children with us. The food in the restaurant was really nice and so was the food from the fish place. The entertainment was great and really catered for all ages. My son loved it. He could not stop smiling. The staff who do the entertainment were really good.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly apart from the staff who were involved in the bingo calling during our stay. These members of staff need more people skills.
The only down sides are:-
We upgraded and paid for a luxury caravan however, on arrival it was clear that we had only received a standard caravan. The standard of the caravan was very poor and was very cosy with 7 people sharing. The seats were ripped and it was unclean despite just being cleaned by staff. We did complain but the Manager came to see us and we were moved. The caravan they gave us was a lot better.
I really objected to being told to be quiet whilst people played bingo in the showbar. We were only having a quiet drink. I thought that the manner and attitude of the staff was very rude and unprofessional. They would stare at you and shush into the microphone very loudly. This needs to be addressed. Mabye the bingo should be held elsewhere.
I think some of the games for the children is a bit unfair. Children are made to leave the stage if they have not got the winning ticket. Some of the children were crying.
You need to get to the showbar early as it can get very busy. Just don't go during bingo unless you want to sit quietly and not say a word for about 45 minutes.
Overall fanastic time had by all and great Park. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a luxury or luxury plus caravan if you can afford it as it is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
3.7 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 9 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.7 km away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.9 km away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#3 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Thorpe Park Caravan Park Cleethorpes, Cleethorpes DN35 0PW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Thorpe Haven Holiday Park Hotel Cleethorpes
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing