We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The quintessential British B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bryn Barn

Bryn Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waltham on the Wolds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Barn
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“The quintessential British B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

This was one of a few stopping points between London and Yorkshire. Loved the countryside and the villages we encountered on the narrow roads that were interesting to navigate. A warm welcome at the end of a day's travel with a cup of tea and a comfortable room. Delicious breakfast got us off to a good start the next day. Neat and clean and lots of character. Obviously more than a business, with such gracious hospitality, a beautiful courtyard and lovely gardens and thoughtfully decorated rooms. Sorry we couldn't stay longer than one night--we left feeling very relaxed!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlindBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

what a beautiful b&b this is. friendly owner (glena) who met me at the door, shook my hand and showed me around her lovely house. my room was spotlessly clean, cumfy bed (most important) modern en-suite with underfloor heating. the room overlooked a nice courtyard garden and breakfast next day was as good as you could get. waltham on the wolds is a really nice little village with two old style pubs just a couple of minutes walk away. ive stayed in hundreds of b&b over the years with my job and this is one of the best ever. highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisbonlion2-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

I have stayed at this bed and breakfast a few time now and each time I am greeted with a friendly face. It is a beautiful well kept house with all you need for a stay. The owners are very friendly and I would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preena-mistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Our group consisted of two couples and we were all very pleased with our rooms. One of the most comfortable beds I've slept in and everything we needed for our stay. The guest lounge was lovely and overlooks the garden which attracts lots of birds. Breakfast was great and included cereal, fruit, toast with homemade preserves and a quality full English breakfast.

Glena and Andrew are very friendly people and so helpful. On arrival Glena asked if we'd booked anywhere for dinner and when we said "no" she helpfully rang round local pubs until she managed to book us a table on a busy Saturday night. A relief as we were all tired and hungry.

We would all definitely stay there again if in the area.

The attractive village has a good pub, The Marquis of Gransby, which serves food and real ales and is only a few minutes walk down the road. Unfortunately, they weren't serving food when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSTEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

We stayed at Glena's and Andrew's B&B The Bryn Barn. We had a room with an en-suite bathroom and our daughter had her own little bedroom upstairs, which she really loved. The room(s) were very nice and clean. We even had a patio in the garden where we could sit. On our arrival we received a warm welcome with a nice cup of tea in the garden. Every morning we had a a very good breakfast, You could choose what ever you liked. A place to remember and to go back to.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRHBlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham on the Wolds
5.9 km away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
7.9 km away
Harboro Hotel
Harboro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
8.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
8.0 km away
Quorn Lodge Hotel
Quorn Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.1 km away
The Crown at Sproxton
The Crown at Sproxton
#4 of 15 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Barn

Property: Bryn Barn
Address: 38 High Street, Waltham on the Wolds, Melton Mowbray LE14 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Melton Mowbray > Waltham on the Wolds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waltham on the Wolds
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing