We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Star Inn 1744
Nearby Hotels
USD 60*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Hunting Lodge(Loughborough)
USD 120*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester(Leicester)(Great Value!)
USD 57*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rothley Court(Rothley)
USD 90*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quorn Grange Hotel(Loughborough)
USD 85*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quorn Country Hotel(Loughborough)
USD 73*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 128*
USD 119*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quorn Lodge Hotel(Melton Mowbray)
USD 67*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 69*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harboro Hotel(Melton Mowbray)
USD 92*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
94
59
18
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
59
18
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreen roomintimate settingleicestershire villagean enjoyable eveninglovely villageraspberry sorbetpork bellybacon sandwicholde worldefull englishcontinental breakfastquick drinkroom was lovely and cleansteak nightwork colleaguesrisotto
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Had a fabulous Sunday Lunch yesterday; Service was excellent Meat melted in your mouth we all agreed! Veg was enjoyed by all! Just the gravy let it down too thin and tasteless!! Apart from that could not fault it! We all said we will be back soon!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank ComedyBigDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Comedy Big Dave.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch at the Star Inn and hope you will all come back again very soon.
Kind regards
Alistair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We were looking to have a two night break but not too far from where we live; somewhere quiet and restful. We were not disappointed. The village of Thrussington is small and charming. There are only two shops and one other pub, located around a village green. The houses were a quaint mix of 16th century to modern buildings. We didn't have to walk/drive far to have amazing views across the rural landscape of Leicestershire.
The Star Inn has a pleasant mix of original features and has been sympathetically extended to produce a large dining area. We ate here on both evenings and the food and service were excellent.
The pub has a selection of well kept real ales, the usual beverages and tea and coffee. The wine list is concise, but the variety and quality were good.
The staff and locals were very welcoming, creating a warm and relaxing atmosphere.
The bedroom was large, nicely furnished and tastefully decorated. The en-suite was also large,tasteful and clean. The room also had air-conditioning, which was a surprising feature in such an old building, which proved very useful during our stay. Another surprising feature was the electronic entry system, which made us feel very secure.
As this was a spur of the moment trip and our itinerary unplanned, the location of The Star was ideal, being central to various attractions.

Room Tip: Wheelchair access is on the ground floor only"
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Elaine.
Thank you so much for your review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and if your in the area again I do hope you will return.
Kind regards
Alistair Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We were visiting relatives in Leicester and Nottingham and found a very reasonable hotel about half-way between the two BUT they didn't do breakfast. I looked up the village of Thrussington on Google and discovered The Star. We popped in to check it out and it was throbbing with people and had everything you want in a good pub plus a separate dinning room. There are also a few rooms for guests. Next morning we returned to this picturesque inn and asked about breakfast. Yes, from 08.00hrs to 10.00hrs. Really friendly people and the whole public area was spotless. Nothing was too much trouble. My pal had a bacon sandwich and I had scrambled eggs, smoked salmon & toast and washed down with cups of tea. Simple but delicious. So good that we came back again the next morning and worked our way through a scrumptious FULL ENGLISH. It might be a little off the beaten track but the effort of finding it will be very rewarding.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Tim
Thanks so much for you lovely review.
We now have nine lovely bedrooms at the Star Inn and have recently been awarded a silver award to add to our four star inn status.
Breakfast is served to non residents most mornings from 8.00am to 10.00am and If your in the area again it would be our pleasure to serve you.
For the benefit of anyone who hasn't been to the Star Inn before we are located just one mile off the A46 'Old Fosse Way' north of Leicester on route to Nottingham.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Alistair Richardson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Very nice suroundings not at all what expected good food and pleasant sevice,
Messed the wifes order up but that was a communication error.
Would go there there again with friends, There is live music and food events all month a good choice

Stayed: August 2017
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Steve
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Star Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
If you enjoy our live music nights we're having a different acoustic musician every Saturday night from Saturday 11th November.
Kind regards
Alistair Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst visiting nearby bird fair. We had the family room which like the rest of the hotel appeared recently refurbished. Very comfortable though a lot of steps and stairs to cope with as it was an old building internally modernised. Lovely evening meal in a very busy restaurant. Overall excellent value for money

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Nick
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Star Inn and for your excellent comments.
The Star has been a Coaching Inn since 1744 and was a frequent stopover for travellers between Leicester, Nottingham and Newark due to its location just off the Old Fosse Way 'A46'
The old bedrooms were all refurbished a few years ago and all have modern en-suite facilities we have been awarded an English Tourist Board Four Star Inn status which was recently upgraded to a Silver level.
Part of the building still has the old low oak beamed ceilingand there are a few stairs to negotiate here and there which all adds to the character of the older part of the property.
We're so pleased you liked the Star Inn and hope you return again very soon.
Kind regards
Alistair Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews