We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
98
60
18
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
60
18
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreen rooman enjoyable eveningleicestershire villageraspberry sorbetbacon sandwichpork bellyfull englishquiet villageroom was lovely and cleansteak nightwork colleaguestimothy taylorcooked breakfastvillage greenbar areabooked a table
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Very nice suroundings not at all what expected good food and pleasant sevice,
Messed the wifes order up but that was a communication error.
Would go there there again with friends, There is live music and food events all month a good choice

Stayed: August 2017
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Steve
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Star Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
If you enjoy our live music nights we're having a different acoustic musician every Saturday night from Saturday 11th November.
Kind regards
Alistair Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst visiting nearby bird fair. We had the family room which like the rest of the hotel appeared recently refurbished. Very comfortable though a lot of steps and stairs to cope with as it was an old building internally modernised. Lovely evening meal in a very busy restaurant. Overall excellent value for money

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Nick
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Star Inn and for your excellent comments.
The Star has been a Coaching Inn since 1744 and was a frequent stopover for travellers between Leicester, Nottingham and Newark due to its location just off the Old Fosse Way 'A46'
The old bedrooms were all refurbished a few years ago and all have modern en-suite facilities we have been awarded an English Tourist Board Four Star Inn status which was recently upgraded to a Silver level.
Part of the building still has the old low oak beamed ceilingand there are a few stairs to negotiate here and there which all adds to the character of the older part of the property.
We're so pleased you liked the Star Inn and hope you return again very soon.
Kind regards
Alistair Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

There are reasons why you return time again to pub, bar or restaurant. The only problem is you can't always identify why you do!

The Star Inn 1744 is one such place. From the outside it's an old restored village Inn; new windows, a lick of paint and everything in its right place just like so many large pub chains. Once your inside again your confronted by a well restored interior and you could be forgiven for thinking "God... not another wipe clean plastic menu restaurant!" But then you receive a genuine warm and friendly greeting. It's then that it all changes for the better.

It makes such a change to visit a small country pub/restaurant that has invested a lot of time and effort (and most probably money) in creating a comfortable, intimate setting and hasn't just stopped there. There are so many landlords/managers that think that's all people want these days... but The Star Inn 1744 shows that they recognise it not the building that makes you return, its all the little things that you can't easily identify.

This could be where we start a long list of what is right, but I won't. It's easier than that great staff, really good food and drinks with an atmosphere that you just want to enjoy.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not the sort of person that would prefer to drink warm flat ale and eat a boring ploughman's lunch just because I'm in an old pub. I did that years ago and thank goodness there are some pubs/restaurants that have learnt from the mistakes made by the likes of Berni Inns and Toby Inns.

Go and try it for yourself, I hope you'll like it too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Andrew
Thank you so much for you lovely review.
What can we say,,, other than thank you for noticing,,, we do always try to get it right and I believe we achieve it more often than not.
I'll pass on your comments to the staff and trust you will keep returning as it's always a pleasure to serve people who appreciate what we do.
Kind regards and hope to see you again very soon.
Alistair Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Despite checking in at 3pm (the advertised time), the hallways were scattered with rubbish and all of the dirty linen was still in the room. They did not have room keys ready for us and said there were no front door keys they could provide us. We were then charged for breakfast, which is not advertised as being a separate cost. When we questioned all of this, we were not refunded for breakfast and the manager said we had asked for an early check in, so what did we expect? All in all very disappointing. Nice rooms but would not recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star1744, Manager at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi fran,
I am really sorry that you were disappointed with your stay here and have rated us only two. I did explain when checking you in that we had a group booking the night before, that had not checked out on time, putting us behind. I apologise for the state of the hall way and I removed the dirty linen from outside your room as I left, after checking you in. On our breakfast form It inform you that the continental breakfast was free with the room and cooked breakfast is an extra. I remember speaking to you in the morning about this and I was willing to take off the breakfast charge but unfortunately the room had already been checked out and paid for. If you would like to contact me at the star, I would be more than happy to refund your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We booked this Inn with Rooms as we were attending the wedding of our Niece in Willoughby on the Wolds.

We booked two rooms and we were delighted with the place.

The rooms had been modernised and were fresh, clean smart and comfortable.

Furniture was solid and bed large. Bathroom had a strong shower over a Bath. Tea and Coffee making facilities, Hair Dryer and Iron and ironing Board all supplied.

We had a light lunch in the Bar before getting changed and ready for the trip a few miles down the road to Willoughby.

Two had the soup of the day and two had a Steak Sandwich. What was good or made a wonderful change was the Waitress advised us what the Soup of the Day was before we asked her. Plus Point straight away.

The Bar and the Restaurant had also been refurbished and the Restaurant area holds about 36 comfortably in plush seating and banquettes. Really nicely done.

Food arrived quickly and was well presented and and at the correct temperature.

Off we went and returned 10 hours or so later we returned for a nightcap before retiring to the rooms.

Great Digestives (Cognac and Malts and also other drinks) with plenty to chose from.

Came down for breakfast in the morning having booked Light Breakfast for 08:30. Set up in the Green Room by the entrance on Tables for Two but again plenty of variety of cereals, Croissants and artisan bread cut to Toast.in the giant and efficient toaster with Jams and Honey.

Coffee on a Filter machine was the only downside and it was not hot enough or strong enough. Tea served in Tea Pots and a good selection of Teas and Infusions.

This is a little Gem within a mile of the Fosse and very well run with staff who care for the guests.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw (and we saw two) were great. . Nothing to chose but check their web site for photos
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SRFCRugbytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

SRFC Rugby Travellers
Thanks you for taking the time to review the Star Inn, your great comments and feedback is much appreciated.
We hope to see you again when your next in the area.
Kind regards
Alistair Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews