We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
eDreamsUSD 162
PricelineUSD 162
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
249
117
53
27
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
117
53
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribble valley valley suite hurst green stonyhurst college the pub wedding room evening meal fish and chips the general manager country inn cheese and onion pie bar area sandwich surrounding countryside wedding breakfast lovely place whole experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We stayed at the Shireburn Arms through an overnight Living Social deal which included bed and breakfast and a two course evening dinner. What a bargain it was! The hotel has been tastefully decorated to reflect its Olde Worlde charm, with the lovely smell of wood burning fires adding to the atmosphere. Our room which was spotlessly clean, was very cosy and comfortable with a large timber framed bed. There was a very good choice for dinner and our meals were delicious. Drinks were reasonably priced. The view from the terrace at the back of the hotel was stunning and I can understand why it is a popular venue for weddings. We plan to return and can highly recommend the Shireburn Arms.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shawlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Stayed here on Saturday evening & couldn't fault the whole experience. Lovely clean, well decorated room & en-suite. The whole pub is tastefully decorated, very cosy with logs fires dotted around. Our meal on Saturday evening was delicious, my partner & I had different starters & mains with all 4 dishes being very tasty & well cooked. Breakfast on Sunday was also excellent, lots of choice & very nicely cooked.
Staff very pleasant for the whole stay too.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

We stayed here on Saturday the 16th of January in the snow.
It was just perfect.
The room was lovely and warm, as were the staff.
We had dinner there.
It was delicious, far better than most food offered in "gastropubs", which this isn't.
It is really cosy without any hint of fake "olde England" because it is a genuine old inn and feels like it in the best possible way.
Excellent value too.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

My partner and I chose to stay here on the 'Dirty Boots Mid-Weeker' offer - 2 nights D,B&B plus walkers packed lunch for £199. What a find! This is a gem of a place, just up our street as decorated in a very quirky, warm cosy traditional manner, with open fires and relaxed welcoming hospitable staff.
Every year we come up to Clitheroe on this date to do the Tolkien trail, in memory of my dear brother (he called this his 'magic walk'), and this year decided to stop over. On the day of our walk it was horrendous weather, but we were shown to a lovely spare room clearly used to accomodate walkers that we could use to put on our walking gear - great idea. After a beautiful walk (weather cleared up thankfully), we wearily arrived back to Shreburn Arms and checked in. The staff here are so lovely and welcoming, and clearly aim for top customer service. Our room (room 15) whilst overlooking the carpark was lovely, with great views of the hills in the distance. The room was furnished well, and the bed was huge!! shower though a little tempremental at times, struggling to maintain a hot temperature, though this was the only minor fault we could find. Other than that, the place is perfect and one of the most comfy beds we've slept in. On the second day though my partner accidentally spilt coffee on the window ledge, and upon rubbing it dry we removed some of the paint. I was totally mortified, and fearful that we'd be reprimanded and charged. Far from it though! Naomi, the manager was so lovely and understanding and assured us we were there to chill out and not stress, so needn't worry. What a lovely lady, who clearly loves her job and is all for customer satisfaction. During our stay, she was happy to chat and nothing was too much trouble. The bar staff were great too.
On to the food - If you are on a diet and watching your waistline then don't bother visiting this delighful place. We were so impressed with the quality and high standard of the food, and size of the portions - on the 'Dirty Boots' offer this was clearly superb value for money. We left on our third day both feeling like we had gained a few extra pounds but both feeling we had had eaten like kings and pleased to have had an excellent relaxing stay.
This place is so full of character and in a lovely setting, and we are now planning our next trip back here hopefully in the Spring.
A delightful gem of a place, in a fabuously wonderful part of England.

Do visit....you won't be disappointed!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Our party of 4 really enjoyed our meal and overnight stay at the Shireburn Arms. The food was excellent in the evening, faultless. Two of us had steak, one had cod and the other a fancy burger. All were delicious and piping hot. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed a comfortable night, followed by an excellent breakfast, served piping hot. There was plenty of choice. I particularly like the country feel of this hotel, log fires are nice, very casual but a little up market at the same time, and the views are fabulous.

Room tip: We were in one of the best rooms, with lovely views but I'm sure all are a reasonable standard. I noticed they do some good deals.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews