We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous retreat and superb base from which to...”
other travellers have booked this property
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse Comfortable Sleeping Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse
Comfortable Sleeping Area
Luxury Kingsize Bed
Everything you require
Relax on the leather sofas
Flat Screen TV
Kitchen & Dining Area
Suntrap Decking Area
Fantastic Sunsets on Whitstable Beach
Whitstable Fisherman Huts
Whitstable Castle
The Sea Forts
Sunset
Summer fun jumping from the groins
A lovely July evening
July sunset at East Quay
Sunset in August from East Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
UptoSpain
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous retreat and superb base from which to explore”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It didn't really register that the property was not that shown in the 'Top' photograph in the advertisement until we arrived in pouring rain and began unloading what little luggage we had brought for a two night stay.
In the end it didn't matter! The property was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities we needed. Far enough from the hustle and bustle of the town and harbour but close enough to the bakery, a number of excellent breakfast joints and also within strike of the historical city of Canterbury, the Bakehouse was the perfect weekend retreat.
All Virginia's suggestions of restaurants and things to do were spot on, well those that we tried and did at any rate, and we are looking forward to returning to sample those delights that we weren't able to cram into a wonderful, if rather wet, two day break.
I imagine that a G&T on the decking in the evening spring sunshine would be simply wonderful. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review which is appreciated. Pleased to hear that you like the Bakehouse and we hope to welcome you back when the weather will hopefully be more conducive for you to sit on the decking with a G&T! Something none of us can book....the weather!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanvileg...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just got back from a lovely stay at the bakehouse very clean and comfortable . Very cosy and close to all amenities . Owner Virginia very helpful . Great place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla S
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way...”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A fantastic autumnal weekend away. A wonderful candlelit supper at the Whitstable Oyster Co. A superb cycle ride along the Oyster Bay Trail to Reculver and back......Oysters & Whitstable Ale at every opportunity.....all wrapped up in a beautiful retreat, tucked away behind the pretty shops. It was a perfect weekend & The Bakehouse was everything you'd want & more. Perfect in every way.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review and it sounds as though your break was idyllic. Pleased to hear that you had such a lovely time and enjoyed The Bakehouse. We hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion P
Bowen, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage, they have thought of everything.”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were very surprised when we entered the cottage. It was small but cosy with everything we needed for a week. The only thing that was a problem was car parking. If going to Whitstable don't go in a car, it is a nightmare finding a park without paying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position.
Liked least: Having a car.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed our property and compared to Australian properties I guess it probably is small. Whitstable is a busy seaside Town and as with most of these popular Towns parking is not easy, however, it is possible to find street parking (I've only ever had to pay twice in 26 years) and I send information with arrival information so I'm very surprised to hear of your problems. Although once parked the majority of people tend to stay put and walk around the Town and use the buses which have an excellent service to Herne Bay, Canterbury etc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Nothing..... It was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and such a lovely one at that! So pleased you had such a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing