We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little hut”
other travellers have booked this property
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse Comfortable Sleeping Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
103 reviews
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse
Comfortable Sleeping Area
Luxury Kingsize Bed
Everything you require
Relax on the leather sofas
Flat Screen TV
Kitchen & Dining Area
Suntrap Decking Area
Fantastic Sunsets on Whitstable Beach
Whitstable Fisherman Huts
Whitstable Castle
The Sea Forts
Sunset
Summer fun jumping from the groins
A lovely July evening
July sunset at East Quay
Sunset in August from East Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 103 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicolapat...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little hut”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We originally booked to stay at the bake house in August, however after complications with my pregnancy I had to be induced on the day we were meant to be going. Virginia who I had been in contact with when I booked the stay was absolutely wonderful and could not have been more helpful. They offered me either part refund or to book another time which is so nice of them as they potentially lost out on other people staying there

When we arrived it was hard to find a parking space that was suitable to us as we took our baby and had to carry all our stuff across the roads but would be fine for people that don't need the endless list of supplies that we had to have.

The bake house is extremely clean, cosy and very welcoming. The only thing I didn't like to much was the alley we walked down to get there but that's not a huge problem.

Overall we had a really nice stay there and would definitely go back.

Thanks for everything Virginia. Xxxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Nicola thank you for taking time to leave a review. When we hopefully welcome you back please remember that there is a loading bay outside the art gallery which will make life easier for you. Whitstable is full of little alleys and tiny streets which add to it's charm and helps to make The Bakehouse rather unique.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/general character
Liked least: The fact that is was located in an alley way
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, The Bakehouse Whitstable and that the breakfast is a good service. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malice20
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend get away!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at The Bakehouse. It is in a perfect location. So close to shops & harbour. Very clean, comfortable and cosy! Virginia was extremely helpful with great communication. We will most defiantly be returning and recommending The Bakehouse to our friends & family. Thank you for a perfect weekend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
Great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M
Reading UK
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spotless, comfortable and convenient.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a five day stay in this lovely little property. As others have mentioned, it's tucked away behind a row of shops and a wine bar; and it's immaculate, well-appointed and just the job for a couple or small family wishing to stay in this lovely and interesting part of the country.
It's just 5 minutes walk from the Whitstable beaches and the harbour, where you can buy all manner of seafood; and it's very conveniently situated for visiting places like Herne Bay, Ramsgate, Margate or Broadstairs, and in our case Canterbury, to which we travelled on foot via the Crab and Winkle Way - about a 2 hour walk at our speed.
The accomodation was all ready when we arrived, and had (almost) everything we needed - others have mentioned the lack of wifi, but with a very nice Wetherspoons pub right opposite offering free wifi, it was no great hardship.
Parking was on-street, but no major hassle.
Thanks Virginia for a great week's stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort and condition
Liked least: No teapot, otherwise nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thank you for leaving a review which was very interesting to hear that you walked The Crab and Winkle Way as we've only known people to cycle it! Great that you enjoyed your stay, Whitstable and The Bakehouse Whitstable. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quirky accomodation
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thank you for leaving review, it's good to hear that you enjoyed another stay at The Bakehouse Whitstable. We look forward to you returning again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing