We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse Comfortable Sleeping Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse
Comfortable Sleeping Area
Luxury Kingsize Bed
Everything you require
Relax on the leather sofas
Flat Screen TV
Kitchen & Dining Area
Suntrap Decking Area
Fantastic Sunsets on Whitstable Beach
Whitstable Fisherman Huts
Whitstable Castle
The Sea Forts
Sunset
Summer fun jumping from the groins
A lovely July evening
July sunset at East Quay
Sunset in August from East Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona C
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whitstable was lovely but terrible parking!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Whitstable was a lovely location. Tankerton slopes is a great place to visit. The Bakehouse, although very clean and well presented, terrible for parking as it's directly on a main road and also directly behind a wine bar. Therefore be prepared to listen to loud music every night and people loitering outside the property, swearing, drinking and smoking until the late hours of 1am! Very awkward when trying to enter your property during the evening from a pleasant night out. Disappointing if your a family and especially if you don't drink and want peace and tranquility! Beware of difficult parking and double yellow lines everywhere!!! Parking information is only given once you've paid and prior to arrival! Especially on a festival week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Margate beach
Liked least: No wi fi & no parking
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
This review was left as 'sour grapes' due to the first time ever,we did not return the full deposit due to an extremely late checkout and the terrible state the property was left in, walls, mirrors, doors, windows all had to be washed after after a two adult 3 night weekend break! Please read all other reviews before making a decision on The Bakehouse Whitstable as this review is totally unjust and unfair. We have not recommended the property for families, however, have had families stay and received extremely lovely comments, no problems whatsoever. These reviewers are people who want to try and ruin a well run and caring business. Whitstable is a very sociable town with fun evenings to be enjoyed,fantastic eating and drinking venues, admittedly the Wine Bar is open until late but the music stops around 11pm, we have spoken to the owner of the Wine Bar who knew immediately who had posted such a review as they were classed as 'unfriendly'. We trust anyone reading this review does realise why it was left. Unfortunately we are unable to offer parking but when a booking is made are as helpful as possible with giving advice for on road parking and nearby car parks, this was a totally unfair remark as parking is out of our control. Whitstable is a very popular place with visitors and as anywhere in the UK parking can be difficult at times but not impossible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas M
Goldenstedt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and me enjoyed a lovely stay at the Bakehouse for some days. Very clean, tidy, well equipped and modern. Sitting in the sun on the patio area was very relaxing and enjoyable. We would highly recommend the Bakehouse to everyone and would love to return for another visit. It's near to restaurants,shops and pubs on the main road but nicely hidden in the backyard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very close to town centre and beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank your for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your break at our property and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMic...
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a real gem”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner had a really lovely stay at the Bakehouse we couldn't have wished for more. The place was so clean and fresh very modern, the bathroom with the walk in shower was soooo nice I would suggest the owner puts a picture of the bathroom on her website. The bed was very big and comfortable we slept well in it. The sun shines lovely on the little patio area we spent a few evenings out there. We would highly recommend the Bakehouse to everyone and would love to return for another visit. It's near to restaurants,shops and pubs and is behind a very nice bakery. We managed to park down a side street for the whole of our stay so if driving you will be fine. Again we would just like to say a really lovely place to stay the owners should be very proud to own it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Thank you for you lovely review, well appreciated and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break and The Bakehouse Whitstable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the interior of the property was superb and of the highest quaility
Liked least: the entrance from the street
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Many thanks for your taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves and The Bakehouse Whitstable and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With regard to your comments; the lights are on a dusk to dawn switch as we felt it important for the outside area to be lit for safety for people who are out for the evening, we will look into altering the decking area with a softer lighting. With regard to wifi, the majority of guests are only too pleased to 'get away' from it for a few days, however, if we do get lots of requests will look into having it setup. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
Many thanks for leaving a review, so lovely to hear that our guests enjoy The Bakehouse Whitstable. It is unusual, it is quirky and we make great effort to ensure that the place is clean and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing