We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Golf in the Glorious Kent Countryside

I've played golf at Poult Wood on three occasions now. The course is set in beautiful countryside... read more

Reviewed 4 May 2018
timcantor
,
West Malling, United Kingdom
Great golf

The course is currently in excellent condition plenty of staff working on the course, proper sand... read more

Reviewed 16 June 2017
david1957164
,
Rochester, United Kingdom
Read all 23 reviews
  
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
10
7
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
7
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairways and greens ground staff in excellent condition driving range easy access tee clubhouse golfers carvery congratulations bunker ball holes
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

The course is currently in excellent condition plenty of staff working on the course, proper sand in the bunkers and short cut fast fairways and greens. Congratulations to the ground staff. As for someones comment about being overpriced as a senior I paid £18:50 on a Friday 08:00 hours tee off. For the very senior seniors or those with a bit of a limp there are no big hills to worry about.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank david1957164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Rare to find such a good woodland public course. Will now become my local course.
Prices are good too.
With a little work to the greens it would be without fault.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank gppowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

As a invited guest on a golf society day...a very good parkland course, some interesting holes with good par 3's. Keep the ball straight and you'll be rewarded as there are many trees that line fairways from the tee. The course was very well presented and the greens run true when picking out the line. Well worth a visit this little gem in the heart of Kent. Go on give it a try...you'll be pleased you did.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank George2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Booked direct with the course on the Saturday and the Gent in the Pro shop was very pleasant and helpful, my fault never checked price, returned on the Sunday morning to be met by a rather abrupt gent this time. Paid our Green Fees and thought that's expensive but hey if it's nice whatever.
Turned up on the 1st Tee and thought "Oh dear what have we done" but it did get better, probably 6 or 7 rough tees and similar rough greens. A few nicely set out holes but more open field holes. Pace of play was slowish, 4 hours for a short 18 hole course but it was a Sunday.
Big plus was the Clubhouse which was serving a very reasonably priced Sunday Carvery some excellent draft ales all served by really pleasant staff.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank PaulandSharon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Where do i start arrived at 9.30am to tee off at 9.48 my playing partner was running late so we let the group behind us play first which is the right thing to do not one word of thanks,but our fault so of we started,we reached the first green only to discover that they had been fertilised which we were told by a greenkeeper it as done that morning,our hands and clubs were white by the end of the round i looked for any sign to say it was or had been done none to be found.
When playing from the bunker on the 8th i had a ball from the 12th tee land next to me NO warning given and when i enquired of the gentlemen (and i use that term loosely)he just shrugged his shoulders and laughed.
From this point onwards we where waiting on every tee we spoke to the two ball we let start before us and there answer was it's a public course what do you expect, at which point I said that the old course at st Andrew's is also a public course and far busier than this and you would not be treated like this.
At £18.50 per round it's good value but good value should NOT substitute course etiquette and good manners.
We did try to bring all our points up at the pro shop you can guess how that went.
Finishing on a good note the food and staff in the restaurant were fantastic.
My recommendation would be play the course it's quite good just make sure you video your round in case you are hit by a ball,because some of the staff could not give a stuff.
I strongly recommend and encourage the management of the club to remind all members and visitors that a golf ball is a dangerous thing. Just ask niddry castle golf club.
Should any one from the club care contact me i am more than willing to talk.

Date of experience: March 2017
4  Thank Wellshurst5560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews