We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown In Tonbridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown In Tonbridge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tonbridge
cleveland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here for ten nights, and am quite fussy with beds but slept fantastic for the full time I was there, I was in the main hotel and the only noise I encountered was the outside area at night with noisy drinkers but that is no fault of the hotel. The sat nav directed me to the front of the hotel but I used my common sense and turned left at my next opportunity and followed the road round finding the carpark immediately. Most of the staff were friendly, my room was very clean. No real complaints, water had little pressure in the shower and bath but it was top floor of an old building. Good location not far from train station. Nice bar/restaurant, my only gripe there was last orders for evening meal was 8.45 pm which was a bit early and on mothers day they closed the kitchen on the evening with no prior warning but there were lots of restaurants nearby if you're not travelling alone or don't mind going on your own.

Room Tip: The main hotel is old (in a nice way) therefore the floorboards creak, if you get a room on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolalou_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    126
    106
    62
    34
See reviews for
50
131
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Last minute booking for a local party in the town, an hour before we got there for £72 is not what i call a great deal.spent 20 mins trying to find car park, checked in, receptionist pleasant enough but hard to understand, card machine broken.Sent back out through car park, lugging lots of stuff to "The Garden Wing", Reminded me of my sixth form bloc at school. Room tiny, awful 2nd hand furniture, overlooking the car park. Old blood stains on sheets, dirty carpet,Grubby, tatty, bathroom door would not shut without locking it, water bottle just a reused Grolsch style top, clearly just refilled every time, crap tea/ coffee blah blah blah. Initially not too bothered as we were not returning till very very late. Came back about 2am, past caring. 8 am, backs creaking from cheap crappy old bed, on Mothering Sunday,hotel contract van starts up, noisy old diesel, left running for nearly 10 minutes, doors sliding open,shut,open,shut,at which point,leant out the window, said sarcastically "thanks!!!" to the guy who flicked me a V and got in the van and drove off. 9am, no room service breakfast, 9.15, 9.30,9.45,10 am, 10.15 (had been told previous night when ordered that breakfast finishes at 10. Now hungry and pissed off. Had bath (took 10 mins to run), and went to check out.
Immediately pointed out that we had not been brought breakfast, which appeared to reduce bill from £92-£72, although the same receptionist had not mentioned the £20 breakfast charge when booked, no apology, no offer of goodwill etc, then explained the van incident, awful bed, now having to go and buy breakfast etc, lady appeared from round the corner and started getting stroppy, so I rose to the challenge and politely gave it my all, resulting in bill reduction to £50 and recommendations for breakfast of "Weatherspoons, McDonalds or 2 greasy spoons"
My advice, we would have been more comfortable, slept bettere and been better catered for in a tent in my friends garden. DON'T GO HERE, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES IT'S BLOODY AWFUL !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: At another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bondgirl919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tonbridge hotels

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the past 2 years in a variety of the rooms avaialbale. My choice of room would be on the top floor and preferably at the rear or out in the garden wing of the hotel.
This hotel is a busy little place with a rear car park which can get quite full.
The staff on reception are lovely and will always try and accomodate you with any needs or problems. Special thanks to Jade Sue and Lisa for all their help during my visits.
The cooked breakfasts are excellent with proper quality sausages and tasy bacon. Thanks to Lyn and Charlie for all the jokes we have shared during breakfast and for prompt attention and service. My only complaint here would be that the toast could be a little bit more done when its brought out but as im not a big toast fan this didnt bother me.
The rooms are varied and i have stayed in quite a few including the honey moon suite which in my opinion has the best shower in all of the rooms that i have stayed in. Some of the rooms have problems with the mixer taps so getting the right temperature on the shower can be a little tricky. On some the water runs slow when the room next door is also using tyhe shower but in general all the rooms are comfortable and the beds are firm. The usual shower gels are provided along with tea coffee and chocolate with a couple of packets of biscuits stocked up on a daily basis.
Most of the rooms now have a flat screen Tv with a freeview digibox. If your staying in rooms 101 to 104 the floor above you is old and creaky and can be a little annoying. But this is a very old coaching inn so you would expect this of a building of this age.
In all this hotel is a very good base for the castle opposite, train station 5 minutes walk up the road, and all the local shops and bars. I have thoroughly enjoyed my stays here and the staff make it all the more pleasureable.
Thanks to richard and his team.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor or in the garden wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissTonyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Rose and Crown is an old coaching inn with plenty of character - it is not a hotel for those who prefer the modern boxes of new hotels. It has quirky corridors and lots of nooks and crannies. It is a very comfortable place to say and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The receptionist, Jade, was a very knowledgeable and helpful young lady.
Breakfast had tasty bacon and freshly-scrambled eggs which we enjoyed in the open-plan room at the front of the hotel. Be aware that the parking is accessed from the rear of the hotel, behind the church, and wasn't too easy to find in the dark if you didn't know that's where the parking was.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GwladyrHaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Had to travel up to Tonbridge on the morning of a funeral and the staff couldn't be more helpful helping us to sign into our room early to get changed and ready.

The food was ok but plenty of it. the Breakfast was excellent, again served by friendly staff, which are actually the best feature of this lovely hotel. Previous posts have critised the prices in th bar, which are to be fair a little steep but it is a hotel bar and not a pub and there are several pubs to try in the high, all of which did seem a little mankey.

Would use this hotel again hopefully in happier circumstances...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonbridge
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Tonbridge Hotel
6.9 km away
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Hadlow Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hadlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
6.2 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
7.7 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown In Tonbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown In Tonbridge

Property: BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown In Tonbridge
Address: 125 High Street, Tonbridge TN9 1DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tonbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tonbridge
Price range (per night): $108 - $167
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown In Tonbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown In Tonbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tonbridge
BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown In Tonbridge Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing