We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Buoy and Oyster

Buoy and Oyster
Ranked #16 of 215 Restaurants in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 45
Description: We are family run restaurant & cocktail bar overlooking the beach in Margate, Kent ​ With a seasonally changing menu specialising in seafood, owner/head chef Simon Morriss & his team create seaside favourites with a modern twist. By working closely with our local Kent suppliers & fishermen most fish & shellfish are usually landed & on your plate the very same day. We are proud winners of "KENT RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR" Taste of Kent awards 2018 & take pride in serving local produce, wines, beers & ales. We are centrally located in the heart of Margate with uninterrupted sea views and guests can enjoy their meal in our modern dining room or join us for drinks outside on our terrace where you will be well looked after by our professional & friendly team. We always have meat & gluten free options & have a vegetarian/vegan menu ​ We look forward to welcoming you soon ​ Simon, Nadine & team
Restaurant details
Description: We are family run restaurant & cocktail bar overlooking the beach in Margate, Kent ​ With a seasonally changing menu specialising in seafood, owner/head chef Simon Morriss & his team create seaside favourites with a modern twist. By working closely with our local Kent suppliers & fishermen most fish & shellfish are usually landed & on your plate the very same day. We are proud winners of "KENT RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR" Taste of Kent awards 2018 & take pride in serving local produce, wines, beers & ales. We are centrally located in the heart of Margate with uninterrupted sea views and guests can enjoy their meal in our modern dining room or join us for drinks outside on our terrace where you will be well looked after by our professional & friendly team. We always have meat & gluten free options & have a vegetarian/vegan menu ​ We look forward to welcoming you soon ​ Simon, Nadine & team
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food cooked by the chef and co-owner Simon and a really friendly host and co-owner, Nadine.

The atmosphere is relaxing and the location is perfect, with some lovely views of the beach and sea.

It just happens we came in the day after they won Best Restaurant in Kent. Highly recommend coming here!

2  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineandSimon, Owner at Buoy and Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you all last week and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Came here for Christmas treat with my best friend. The food did not disapoint I love fish and was spoilt for choice. My friend and I really enjoyed our meals. The staff were friendly and polite. Will definitely come here again and can not stop recommending it.

2  Thank casstansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineandSimon, Owner at Buoy and Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

My second visit to this place, and it did not disappoint! Despite it being a busy Sunday lunchtime, service was quick and efficient and the food was to die for!
The devilled whitebait (starter) was lovely, although I think it is more suitable to share between two. The fish and chips was probably the best I've ever had! I would definitely recommend!

2  Thank Catsandthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineandSimon, Owner at Buoy and Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Great service, good atmosphere, very friendly place to eat, with sea views over Margate sands and seafront, fantastic food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineandSimon, Owner at Buoy and Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I had lunch with a friend here on a weekday in mid February. We got a great table with a view of the sea and beach. The service was friendly and helpful. The fish and chips were delicious and the beer batter was what made it. The rest of the menu looked enticing but I wanted fish and chips as we were by the sea. Great value and definitely recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank doo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineandSimon, Owner at Buoy and Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Many thanks for your kind words. We agree you just can't beat fish and chips by the sea! We are so pleased you had a wonderful afternoon and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buoy and Oyster also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Buoy and Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing