We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, lovely people, very average tea”

Walpole Bay Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 218 Restaurants in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 September 2018

The other reviews tell you all about the place. It's wonderful, quirky and friendly and homely all in one. That's three reasons to visit just there. The dining room is lovely and all the china just right for the occasion.
This was our first time with their afternoon tea and I'm afraid it was disappointing. Sandwiches were unimaginative and practically doorsteps. Huge scones were difficult to get to grips with, two smaller ones would have been better. They came with double cream not clotted cream. The cakes looked really dull, were just sponge without fillings or toppings, I don't think any of our party ate one. That all said we all had a lovely time and felt that the tea was value for money. Other local posh tea places locally are about twice the price. For ourselves, we'd happily have paid double for the full tea experience but can't faut what we got for the price. Maybe they could offer a special 'champagne' tea with all the trimmings - then again maybe there is no thirst for this in Margate.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Old007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Good lunch with friends, but felt quite pricey for a canteen style production. Better cooked and cheaper Sunday lunches in loads of places in Kent. Wouldn’t choose to go back!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Great surroundings, nice food, well presented and not rushed. Very pleasant way to spend a Sunday with good friends. Great value for money.
Thank You.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

My family visited the Walpole Bay today, to celebrate my sister's 60th birthday. We were booked in for an Afternoon Tea. The place has a very traditional feel to it, and is very quirky with very nice matching china. The sandwiches were ok, but were cut into quarters and still had the crusts on. In my experience, the sandwiches are usually cut into fingers and have the crusts removed. The scones were very nice and light, but we were very disappointed to have whipped cream instead of the traditional Clotted Cream. There was also 2 pieces of cake too. However, if you're looking for somewhere interesting, quirky and old, then this is the place to go! It is a museum hotel and has lots of interesting period artefacts, including an original trellis gated lift!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lovetorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We visited the Walpole Bay Hotel to have coffee plus a light lunch, and to look at all the Artifax in there museum, it has to be seen to believed, it takes you back to bygone years. Wonderful service from staff, very friendly,nothing was too much trouble, we had sandwiches and tea for lunch. All served on bone china. Just like it was done years ago. The prices was very reasonable, we will go back again.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank glenisbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walpole Bay Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing