We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Charming market

We visited this market for about 100 years or so ago, when our children were small and we were... read more

Reviewed 19 September 2018
MulleEllum
,
Oslo, Norway
Market

We had a market with a balcony in Huddersfield but ripped down. In sorry to say that this might go... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
A3303XQpaulh
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 118 reviews
  
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
57
40
9
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
40
9
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smallest pub indoor market the double decker bus london bus big red bus top deck caribbean food organic bread stalls selling bus cafe cinnamon buns artisan bakery lovely quirky place diverse food big hall independent business hip place
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

So many great eating experiences here.
The new Pizza place is fabulous.
The atmosphere is very 'Margate".
Please eat here and share the passion.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

9 months since our last visit and looking forward to the range of eclectic shops, antiques and curio's among the cafes and food stalls. Disappointed to find that it now consists mostly of a mishmash of eating places and a disappointing range of shops.
I guess that there are trends and shops have to cater for the majority to survive but this collective has fast become a 'much the same as anywhere else' kind of place.
Fortunately there are a lovely selection of what we were looking forward to just a few streets away. We visited on a damp spring morning lunchtime when things are a bit quieter but the whole place lacked atmosphere.

Date of experience: March 2018
4  Thank ColinF1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Lovely art space/market. There are a few stalls selling from vintage to Dr. Marteens to bakery, pizza places, restaurant and even a tattoo shop. There are two pianoforte free to play and poetry reading too. I bought rocky bread and sweets from a stall there, very delicious! It is a place where you can get a coffee, relax and enjoy some nice time in company of artists.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Jenika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

This is a good place to spend an interesting hour with a cup of tea or coffee and a lovely freshly baked cake from Gina's Old Kent Bakery. The bread and cakes are freshly baked on the premises. You can even get your drink from the double decker bus parked inside the old theatre. Also available are the most amazing, made to order, pizzas. There are a range of small businesses within the building. It is conveniently located opposite the Turner Contemporary Gallery. There is wheelchair access via a side door and plenty of seating inside.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Tom Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

What on earth is happening to this place? There's clearly something very wrong as each time we visit we find that several more stallholders have departed. It's really sad as we like to support the type of people that run these units but as soon as you find somebody good they've gone. We've decided not to go back as there's better places in the Old Town and Cliftonville. We also found the Italian unit now in the considerably nicer Crown by the Old Town Hall. It's a great pity that the market has declined so dramatically. What a sad state of affairs.

Date of experience: January 2018
6  Thank TonyM186253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews