We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem!”
Review of TiffinBox

TiffinBox
Reserve with OpenTable
TiffinBox is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Hythe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 26
Description: The TiffinBox brings you a very exciting range of authentic Indian Thalis. The idea behind a Thali is to offer all the 6 different flavours of sweet, salt, bitter, astringent and spice on one single plate. Dishes served in a Thali vary from region to region in India and are usually served in small bowls, called Katori. These 'Katoris' are placed along the border of the round Tray.
Restaurant details
Description: The TiffinBox brings you a very exciting range of authentic Indian Thalis. The idea behind a Thali is to offer all the 6 different flavours of sweet, salt, bitter, astringent and spice on one single plate. Dishes served in a Thali vary from region to region in India and are usually served in small bowls, called Katori. These 'Katoris' are placed along the border of the round Tray.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We happened across this restaurant whilst looking for somewhere for dinner whilst staying locally

We were drawn in by the Thali menu and were not disappointed.

Two delicious platters of Indian tapas style food - each delicately and deliciously flavoured

We both left pleasantly full, but not uncomfortably stuffed and happily pondering our next visit - £99 winter deal of DB&B for two. Checking out diaries as soon as we get home!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We went into the Tiffin box by chance on Thursday lunchtime. We were made very welcome by the owner .He explained the menu to us as we had never had thali food before
We will definitely be going again the food was amazing the naan bread was light and the little bowl with all the different dishes in didn't know were to start it was all lovely and very different authentic Indian food well worth the visit

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Tour817109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

An Indian restaurant but not as we know it. Interesting menu and amazing authentic Indian food. If you are looking for the anglicized curry restaurant that most Indian restaurants serve then this is probably not for you. However if you want an authentic Indian meal then this restaurant is superb. Cannot fault it. To be fair the décor is a little 'tired' and is situated in a former pub. Don't let that put you off. I have been to India and the food in this restaurant compares with anything I had in India. The waiter could not be more pleasant and accommodating.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SaintDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffinBoxHythe, Manager at TiffinBox, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our restaurant, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our authentic dishes. We will definitely consider your comments regarding decor and try to improvise changes sometime in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back shortly. 

Thanks & Regards
Mihir P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

The Tiffin Box is a real treat. The restaurant specialises in Thalis (the large plates that contain several dishes) that cover all tastes and one can choose the level of heat in the spices as well. For example, the Goan Thali has chicken, fish and duck dishes alongside tarka dal, rice, excellent light and crispy nan bread and a couple of sweet treats as well.

For those that don't want a full meal on a plate, there are individual dishes that can be selected as well.

Compared to most Indian/Bangladeshi restaurants, the Tiffin Box has a limited menu, but the dishes it serves are gourmet and prepared to perfection.

The decor is warm and bistro like and the waiting staff are friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JohnHouston54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffinBoxHythe, Manager at TiffinBox, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear John,

We would like to thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your experience of TiffinBox. I’m glad we were able to impress you with our menu.
Once again, many thanks and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards
Mihir P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful food, freshly cooked and full of flavour. The best outside India!

Service second to none too.

You must try this place if ever you are in the area.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank SnSMK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffinBoxHythe, Manager at TiffinBox, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal and our service.
Our guest satisfaction is our prime concern. Looking forward to see you again soon here at the TiffinBox. 

Regards
Mihir P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to TiffinBox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing