We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
98
51
18
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
51
18
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster old building poster room high street first class lovely meal low beams lamb wine list delicious food wheel chair kent village beautiful village stayed for one night sardines great quality comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

On arrival at the Star and Eagle hotel you instantly get country feel to the place. It has stunning views which are nice to look at first thing in the morning and when the sun is setting.
We met Lizzie who runs the front of house. She is a great person who clearly loves her job. We met her little boy who was a joy to be around. All of the girls behind the bar had a smile on their face from morning to night.

The food is cooked to a high standard and they have a weekly specials board, afternoon tea and local desserts like the Kentish apple pie. Chef Scott certainly knows how to use all of his produce to the best of his ability along with all of the kitchen staff.

We stopped in room number 9 which was lovely. It had all its old beam features on the ceiling which you don’t get to see anymore so it was an added touch. The room was fully equipped with everything you would expect. Hairdryer, towels, tea and coffee facilities in the room and little bathroom toiletries.

Me and my husband had a great time and will definitely look forward to our next trip here.

Ther

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the field views
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and couldn’t fault it. Had a lovely meal, very comfortable stay. Clean and tidy room. Comfortable bed. Staff were amazing and friendly they even gave us breakfast in bed! Definitely stay again!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mariaflack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Great location,good food,sensible prices and friendly staff.
A stunning view,good beer and a wine list that is not unreasonable.
Very comfortable old school setting without a trace of pretension.
Excellent value and a bit of a hidden secret.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 818rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We went to The Star and Eagle last week and had a superb evening. The food was superb, absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable also. If you want a lovely meal in a lovely Restaurent, then this is the place for,you.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We stayed for one night at the Star and Eagle and were most impressed. We received a warm welcome on check in and my husband was advised to be careful as there are low beams in some parts of the hotel and that our room was one of the quirkier ones. This proved to be the case but nevertheless we thought the room was charming and clean and comfortable too. The ensuite bathroom had modern fixtures and fittings and clever use had been made of the old chimney breast. Although anyone over about 5 ft 5 ins tall would be unable to stand up straight in the overbath shower it's the sort of thing you can put up with for a short stay!
The room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the road through Goudhurst but was very quiet and we both enjoyed a good night's sleep in the comfortable bed.
In the early evening we had a couple of drinks in the attractive bar and found the staff to be friendly and welcoming.
In the morning we enjoyed breakfast in a very pretty room and once again the staff on duty were delightful. There was a choice of English or Continental breakfast to order as well as cereals , fruit juices and fresh fruit laid out . I had scrambled eggs on toast and my husband had the full English accompanied by a cafitiere of coffee. All very good.
There are a few car parking spaces at the front of the hotel but if you follow the road round past the church next to it you come to a larger private car park at the rear of the property.
We thought the Star and Eagle was excellent in all respects and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 9 is charming but does have a low ceiling and one very low beam. It's at the front but very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabellacottonsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews