We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old building”
Review of Star & Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star & Eagle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goudhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This hotel is in a lovely early building, of which the core is 14th century, right on the high street of Goudhurst village. There is a car park at the rear. Our bedroom was number 3 (at the back of the hotel), which had a really lovely view over the fields and beyond. The room was not a high flyer in terms of decoration (cheapish furniture, quite old looking and old-fashioned curtains, etc), but was perfectly adequate for our purposes (going to a party nearby) and the bathroom was quite nice. There was free wifi and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but no drinking water. The bed was comfortable but extremely cosy (which was OK for us as we only have a queen-sized bed ourselves, though this was possibly smaller!!), but there is no room for a larger bed! My main quibble is that, for what it was, it was expensive: we paid as much for our night at this hotel as for a night in a lovely, much smarter hotel not a million miles away (about 3/4 of an hour away). If they are going to charge this much, they really must think about redoing the bedrooms to a high standard (ie with the help of an interior designer). The manager was very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: Front rooms noisy from high street traffic; back rooms quiet with lovely views; top floor low ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2016

My husband, myself & two friends stayed @ The Star & Eagle & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. To get to our rooms, we had to duck down as the ceilings were very low but that was because the building is hundreds of years old. The beds were very comfortable & the rooms were very cosy. We ate in the restaurant & all really enjoyed our food. My friend & I had the fish pie which we both agreed was delicious whilst my husband & his friend had the sirloin steak which they told me was cooked to perfection.
The portions were generous so much so that I couldn't manage the bread & butter dessert (which is a particular favourite of mine!) although my husband & my friend did. Her husband had the pavlova which he said was also delicious. All in all a very nice weekend. Thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a very low (authentic) beam so a tall person might find it difficult to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancynye94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Very nice location, with a lot of details that makes you feel in a place with warmth. And with several hundred years of history, that cannot be seen in the things you use, but only in the ones you enjoy seeing. St Mary's Church on the side, with - as usual- a surrounding graveyard with a sign saying "Entertaining Life", amazing.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank julbongut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Came to view as a wedding venue. To say the least I was sceptical from the limited information and pictures. But believe me when I say they do not do it justice!

The staff are helpful and friendly. The pub and dining areas are beautiful, especially if you appreciate the old style buildings, this one is a treat!

We were shown around the whole building and talked through how the day would go. The building is incredible. I have never been in one like it, like being in an Alice in wonderland themed building with the small doorways and wonky ceilings and floors in some of the guest rooms. This building is not the modern stark tech fussy type and I love it. Exposed beams, low ceilings, fire place.

Karen bent over backwards to tell us we could do pretty much what we wanted, I don't think I heard her say no during our whole time with her, and she gave us a quote then and there. This is a serious choice for our venue as we all fell in love from the minute we came in the door.

The prices are also incredibly reasonable for such a hidden gem!
Can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank kelmo_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

This hotel is easy to find and has plenty of free car parking at the rear and front. We stayed here after visiting Scotney Castle which is nearby. We booked the four poster room after reading reviews on this site. The room is right over the main road which was quite noisy even with secondary glazing. The mattress needs replacing and dips in the middle. The television is quite small and cant really be seen if you are sitting on the bed. The restaurant was quite busy and the food and service were good. It is overpriced even for a quaint hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piddingoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goudhurst
5.6 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
327 reviews
10.2 km away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
325 reviews
16.3 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
16.2 km away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
10.9 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star & Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star & Eagle Hotel

Address: High Street, Goudhurst TN17 1AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Goudhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goudhurst
Price Range: $160 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Star & Eagle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Star & Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star And Eagle Hotel
Star Eagle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing