We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
98
49
17
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
49
17
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster old building poster room high street first class lovely meal low beams you'd expect lamb wine list delicious food kent village beautiful village sardines great quality comfortable bed warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016

This hotel is easy to find and has plenty of free car parking at the rear and front. We stayed here after visiting Scotney Castle which is nearby. We booked the four poster room after reading reviews on this site. The room is right over the main road which was quite noisy even with secondary glazing. The mattress needs replacing and dips in the middle. The television is quite small and cant really be seen if you are sitting on the bed. The restaurant was quite busy and the food and service were good. It is overpriced even for a quaint hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the road
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piddingoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as a birthday treat for my partner so we stayed in the four poster room. The room breathed history yet the bathroom was modern and well equipped. Dinner in the restaurant was a little pricey however you pay for quality and this was of the highest standard. Staff were so friendly and helpful and couldnt do enough for us.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank NickGFC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Have stayed a couple of times at the Star and Eagle and it always delivers good value. Book up in advance as it done times gets busy quite early in the summer months. Good beers (local ales) are always available and the food is to a good standard. I would go back again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely hotel in picturesque Goudhurst. The Christmas lights in the village were gorgeous. We were going to a party in the evening and this was the perfect place to rest our heads after a fantastic time. We had the room with the half tester bed. It was the last room available on the night and was more expensive than we paid last time, but worth it. It was a lovely room and exceedingly comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. Home made biscuits were excellent. The room was warm and the double glazing subdued any traffic noise from the road outside. The church bells were glorious to hear when we arrived on Saturday pm and when we left on Sunday am. You need to watch your head when going to your room, especially after a few! The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I think I singlehandedly polished off all the fantastic locally produced apple juice. Another good thing, was there was no curfew on what time we had to get in by - another reveller stayed in a different pub and had to get back by midnight or he would be locked out. Suffice to say, he was locked out.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phonelessinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015

My wife and two kids went here the other week and we found the the food was poor and way overpriced so we will not eat here again. The service was average at best and when we complained about the price of the food nothing was said or done.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bigverny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews