We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
24
26
12
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
26
12
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street car park the pub wooden beams comfortable bed ironing board memory foam mattress a bit tired priced accordingly full english one night stay rooms were very clean near future breakfast was excellent family room a lovely stay look forward
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is a pub that is on the up. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the cleaner is brilliant, happy, chatty, and great at her job.
The room was comfy with lots of nice touches, tea making facilities, a nice shower and all the the soaps included. We bought our little terrier and were not charged any extra. A lovely change from hotels that overcharge for a dog that is provided with nothing, and is cleaner than most guests. They even fed biscuits to her at breakfast.
That brings me to say that the food is lovely at breakfast, with plenty of everything. Sausages and bacon are sourced locally, and bread is home made. Everything is there, juices, serials, and plenty of choice.
We had one meal in the evening, and it was huge, Aaron really gives you the lot, he is chatty, and friendly as all of the staff were.
The pub area can look dated as people seem to write, but the place is 700 years old, what do you expect??? It just adds to the character
The bar staff were great too. And the locals were the same, very friendly, talkative, and somewhat quirky, but they made you smile
My partner was woken one night by hearing two boys playing sword fighting with sticks.When we questioned Aaron about this, we were told two boys were killed in the barn where the accommodation is 500 years ago when it burnt down....Was this them still playing ???
There are also tunnels connecting to the church and possibly Hever Castle, intriguing.

The pub is central to lots of attractions, with Never Castle, Knole, Chiddingstone Castle and Ightham Mote nearby. And Churchills home not far away either.
This is one Inn I will definitely come back to one day, Everyone here should be pleased with the job they are doing.
We loved our stay, Thank you
Vicky and Ray Coppin

Room Tip: All rooms are comfy
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My husband and I had a very nice lunch the staff very friendly being midweek not very busy the food cooked very nice and hot .It is years since I visited the crown but will definitely be going back again now, nicely set out and plenty of room and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas8676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

A one night stay OK the car park was a bit hard to find as you have to drive down the service lane of waitrose carpark to get to it, the room was great loads of coffee and tea ect, the shower is not great but will be fixed, but not a problem. We eat there in the evening food was great, and good mix of beer and ciders, the free breakfast which comes with the room was extremely good, full English and cereal coffee juice, if you are exploring that area of Kent it's worth a night or two stay or just a pint and some food...we will be back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank rogerfane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed two nights in a family room which was a little dated and fairly basic. However the staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfast was excellent. It can be a little noisy at night but we were in party mood so it did not bother us but others complained of a lack of sleep.

Overall very good value for money!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MBees13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Busy old world listed pub right on the high street with lots of original features and free parking.

Room was well appointed; tea, coffee, toiletries and plenty of hot water. Decoration was a bit tired, though the new landlord is working on this.

The breakfast, included in the very reasonable price, was very good. The “small” Full English isn’t small at all.

You need to appreciate that this is a busy pub with rooms so there is noise until closing time, which didn’t matter to us as we were back late anyway.

The car park is accessed round the back by going down the side of Waitrose; check out Google Maps satellite view.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aweb1985, Owner at Ye Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews