We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable and friendly”
other travellers have booked this property
Benson's Rest from the paddock.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Benson's Rest from the paddock.
You won't want to leave Benson's Rest View of lounge from bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Benson's Rest from the paddock.
You won't want to leave Benson's Rest
View of lounge from bathroom
Dining table in lounge area
Your patio. You also have a BBQ for outdoor dining (on request)
You even have your own private garden
Your garden
Bedroom 1. Probably the most comfortable bed in the world. Blackout blinds too :)
2nd bedroom. Can be made up as superkingsize if required.   You can opt for 1 bedroom if prefered
Perfectly equipped kitchen with washing machine, microwave, oven.
Your large bathroom with plenty of towels and toilet rolls.
The driveway to your holiday home
We rescue battery hens. Betty and Ethel will welcome you with fresh organic eggs.
Views across the paddock and fields
Cranbrook, Kent. A beautiful, historic market town only 2 miles away
Winter beauty in the garden of England
Goudhurst Village at sunset
Your garden. Feel free to that marshmallows on your own little bonfire
Relax in the hammock and enjoy the garden of England in your own private garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cranbrook, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
andrewkar...
Redbourn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were made very welcome by Sarah, who ensured we had all that we needed and was a highly engaging host. The accommodation was excellent, carefully and attractively furnished. The beds were comfortable, and spacious. This was a good base for our visits to Bodiam, Rye, Batemans and beyond. Only disappointment: we couldn't get in to the Kino Cinema in Hawkhurst for their evening production. Book in advance for somethong as popular as Ab Fab, the Movie! Our warm thanks to Sarah and Nick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful wealden towns
Liked least: queues into hawkhurst
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for giving us such great review. We really enjoyed you staying and being so lovely. Good tip about the Kino, We are going to make sure we book in advance too. Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5_9_2_8
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect! A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place was even better than the photos and description! Very comfortable, with everything that we needed. The large comfortable bed in the main bedroom was as described and meant the sleep quality was great. Although the weather wasn't good for our stay, having the picnic table outside and spacious garden was super. The location is perfect for visiting the lovely surrounding countryside and, for National Trust members, amazing to have four great places to visit close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: I can't really think of anything.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed it. Please come back again. It's so lovely to have great guests. Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argus23
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location and comfortable.”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were unable to access our rental until 16.30 as owner Nick was held up at work and unable to complete cleaning. We did need to clean kitchen tops and microwave (which had strong smell) but found everything else satisfactory. Only 1 bedroom but it was roomy and we were very comfortable. We found everything we needed in Cranbrook, and the property was about 10 minutes drive from there. Cranbrook was, we found, a good base for exploring the County of Kent, and not far from the Coast. Nick was helpful, but we did not meet Sarah until departing 6 days later. Picturesque location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I promise that if you ever come back and visit us Nick will not be in charge of the cleaning! Annabel our lovely housekeeper was ill that week and we didn't have a back up so all was entrusted to Nick. Rest assured, Annabel is back and we have back up in case she is off again. Sarah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseb07...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay and the bedrooms were very comfortable, the owner Sarah and her family were lovely and our children got on very well with her son and enjoyed seeing the chickens. Fab place and would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you Louise, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. You are all welcome anytime.

Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne D
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a brilliant holiday at Benson's Rest and received a lovely welcome gift of cake which my one year old son enjoyed very much! Benson's Rest is in the perfect location for exploring Kent and Sussex and was a very comfortable base. My family and I would highly recommend it to others with small children.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for a lovely review Leanne,
You are all welcome to come and stay with us anytime.

Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing