We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Mount

The house as seen from the top of the garden with the sea in background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house as seen from the top of the garden with the sea in background
The lovely garden opposite the house The hall looking through the front door to the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The house as seen from the top of the garden with the sea in background
The lovely garden opposite the house
The hall looking through the front door to the garden
Sitting room
Sitting room from other end showing dining area
The kitchen looking from the pantry to the hall
Main bedroom
Main bedroom from the other direction
Popular bunk bedroom
The bathroom looking from the landing
Relax with a candlelit bath and a glass of wine!
Sea views from the garden
Beautiful mature gardens - top lawn
Top lawn with sun loungers
Little Mount is rated 4 star self catering by Visit England
Totland Bay looking East from our end
Totland Bay at low tide
Boats in Totland bay!
Nearby Colwell Bay with the tide out
The Hut bistro on nearby Colwell bay
Windsurfing in Colwell bay with  Fort Albert in the background
Yarmouth Harbour with the church in the background
Nearby Freshwater bay looking down the west coast
A panoramic view of the west coast of the Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sallyolds...
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super holiday home”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved our 2 week stay at little mount. Very spacious, lovely house with plenty of room and equipment for a family of 5. Very comfortable beds. The garden is huge and very private, great for children to explore and an all day long sun trap for sunbathing and a stunning sea view.There is a lovely path through the wood leading to the beach which was very exciting- we even saw a badger on it one evening! Totland is peaceful and relaxing but very close to the needles park or yarmouth for things to entertain everyone. The beach at Totland is an easy walk from the house and our children had great fun with inflatables in the sea and playing ball games on the beach when the tide was out. We had a great meal at the waterfront restaurant on the beach too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thank you Sally for your lovely review of Little Mount. We hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone222
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Idyllic spot”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Roomy, spacious and beautifully situated, can't recommend Little Mount enough. We were slightly late in arriving but were welcomed by the owners and invited to a drinks party on the lawn. This was the evening before the Round the Island race so the atmosphere was very special. Being able to access the coastal path through the wood at the top of the garden and walk along to a magnificent view of the Needles early the next morning to watch the yachts was an added bonus. The location of Little Mount and the hospitality offered could not be bettered, and we will definitely be returning.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jk80
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A beautiful spacious and quiet house with all mod cons”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Little Mount is on the western side of the Isle of Wight in a small town, and is very quiet and close to the coast. It is one half of a large house, with the owners in the other half. They were very friendly and helpful when we arrived and during our stay.
The house is beautiful, large but cosy and in very good condition. The lounge is spacious with comfortable chairs, the kitchen is recently refurbished with all the expected amenities, and the bathroom is also very modern and pleasant. The main bedroom with double bed is enormous, the smaller second bedroom is quite small, with a bunkbed and is beautifully decorated. Our toddler had a lovely time running around as the house is much bigger than our flat, and slept well in the cot bed provided. The garden is nice and large, and there are nice walks to the coast, which is very close by.
Although the west of IoW is very pleasant and has the Needles to see among other things, I would recommend Little Mount particularly to drivers as much of what there is to see there tends to be in the middle and east of the island, however the island is small enough to never be a long drive away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveC441...
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Characterful and comfortable accomodation in an impeccable location”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Truly wonderful place to stay; well-furnished, roomy flat in a Victorian house; the garden fronts onto the coastal path (and is rather a nice place for coffee & toast in the morning!) and a short walk down some (quite steep) steps takes you to the beach. The flat retains its Victorian character, with high ceilings and wide doorways, but the kitchen is well-fitted out with modern appliances should you choose to stay in & cook. Incidentally, there are plenty of very reasonable eateries around Totland & Freshwater nearby. It is well away from any kind of built-up area, and is accessed via a narrow drive with quite a tight turn in! We have stayed there three times now, and my children love it there (as do I!). It is the perfect place to base yourselves if you want to explore the beaches & walks in West Wight, well away from the more 'traditional' seaside towns of East Wight (which have own charm, of course). The hosts are very welcoming, but basically leave you to your own devices for your stay there - you are made to feel very comfortable in what becomes your own space during your stay. I would highly recommend it to both families who want to be active in the Island's beautiful landscape, as well as to those who want to just chill by the sea and watch the boats sail by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review for Little Mount and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
I would just like to clarify for potential guests that Little Mount is a house not a flat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodandsar...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely to come back for a second holiday”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were very pleased to return to this lovely holiday home in such a beautiful part of the island. We had an extremely relaxing week, and really appreciated coming back to the very comfortable and well equipped accommodation after each day exploring the island or walking along the coastal path easily accessed from the end of the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing