We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Marvellous Orchard Lee”

Review of Orchard Lee

'Orchard Lee', May 2014, peaceful and spacious
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Orchard Lee', May 2014, peaceful and spacious
'Orchard Lee' May 2014, looking south, showing level parking 'Pippin' wing master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
'Orchard Lee', May 2014, peaceful and spacious
'Orchard Lee' May 2014, looking south, showing level parking
'Pippin' wing master bedroom
'Pippin' wing, living and dining area
Orchard Lee at Lee Farm
'Russet '  wing living and dining area
'Russet' wing master bedroom
apple blossom
verandah Orchard Lee
Yarmouth square
Yarmouth Quay Street
September wedding reception at Orchard Lee
July wedding reception at Orchard Lee
Round the Island Race  off Yarmouth June 09
Broad Lane leading to Wellow and Thorley
across the fields to Yarmouth
December 'heavy snow'!
Yarmouth harbourside
Yarmouth yachts dressed for Diamond Jubilee
Wellow fields after harvest
'Orchard Lee' set in a meadow looking south, 2007
Orchard Lee, 2007, set in a meadow, from approach lane,
view along coast towards Freshwater Bay
from the ferry arriving at Yarmouth harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Evian494
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Marvellous Orchard Lee”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We rented Orchard Lee for a large group (of 10) and had a fabulous time. The property is very well designed with great aspect - huge, decked, colonial-style veranda the length of the house, south facing, over looking the hills toward Brook Village. It overlooks a large meadow with fire pits / camp fire and small shallow stream beyond the hedge - the birds tweet and the stars shine bright i.e. you are on holiday, away from it all.

The house is very spacious and it's clear a lot of thought has gone into appealing to small / large groups of friends and families alike - you seem to be able to use sliding doors to separate the house into sections which would be handy for some... I recall some wood burners, cosy areas, for inclement weather but we spent most of our time on the beautiful veranda.

I guess if you're feeling energetic (we were not) you could easily hike to the coast or just around the beautiful countryside. But if not, the wonderful Yarmouth and the whole West Wight Coast is down the road and over the hill. Better still it's no doubt great for cycling as cars are few and far between.

I'm a regular at the South Hams in Devon and this was on par with that, only not 5/6 hrs away in traffic (from the South East) - a short trip down to the coast and brief ferry trip which is always fun - a pleasure with the weather we had.

Steve and Jill were very efficient and welcoming - also a mine of information on the wonderful IoW!

Will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aspect / Vernada / Fire Pits
Liked least: Stephen Martin (one of the people in our group!)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukjonnybo...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, well equipped and well located and in a tranquil setting.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is our second stay at Orchard Lee with our 3 children. They loved it as they can scoot right around the house on decking, the TV and iPads hardly got used. This is a great location with no light pollution if you enjoy star gazing. Also well located to Island attractions and a local supermarket 2.5 miles away in Freshwater. This year the Grandparents stayed overnight and the Great Grandparents who live on the island visited each evening. They all commented on the space, location and home comforts of Orchard Lee. The children loved it and already want to return. We hired the whole place and this gave us a children's end and parents end of the house, which meant we could all relax, giving them a bedroom and bathroom each! If you need a decent size place for a IOW trip I really can't recommend this enough, it's lovely. Enjoy the stars at night and beautiful views by day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great launchpad for exploring the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

It's spacious, well equipped, and perfectly placed for exploring the Isle of Wight. I stayed there for the purposes of a stag weekend, and the host is able to point you towards and even organise a few local activities - in this case, off-roading and other types of larking about.
But it's also perfect for families, with plenty of space both indoors and outdoors, uncluttered, and easy to keep clean, plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms.
Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious and secluded
Liked least: The muddy paths
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen C
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect first family holiday”
Reviewed 19 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our holiday on the Isle Of Wight was our first holiday as a family since the arrival of our baby boy, who was six months at the time. Not only was the island itself a fantastic choice (great weather, beautiful beaches, yummy restaurants), so was Orchard Lee.
We were really impressed with the property. Worthy of special mention are the lovely country views you get from the terrace. It's such a picturesque and peaceful spot, the perfect place to enjoy your early morning coffee or sip a nice cool sundowner - something we did plenty of!
Stunning setting aside, we were also really pleased with the facilities. The owners seemed to have thought of everything you could possibly need for a stress free family holiday. They even provided a cot for our little one, so we didn't need to worry about squeezing a travel cot in to the car for the ferry crossing. There was a microwave, dishwasher and even a washing machine - if you have a six month old you'll appreciate how valuable all these things can be! Both bedrooms were en suite and the beds were super comfy, I slept so well for the whole stay (sleep being another very valuable commodity these days!) plus, the best bit, and true testament to the peace, quiet and comfort of Orchard Lee, is our baby started 'sleeping through' while we were there as well ... thank you Orchard Lee!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely country views, peaceful location, comfy beds
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing