We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A glorious light filled holiday cottage with a...”
View from the Boathouse overlooking the water and Scows sailing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Boathouse overlooking the water and Scows sailing
Looking towards the log burner and main bedroom The Boathouse kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
View from the Boathouse overlooking the water and Scows sailing
Looking towards the log burner and main bedroom
The Boathouse kitchen area
The Boathouse lounge looking north
View from main bedroom 6ftx61/2ft bed and private hot tub outside!
The Boathouse hot tub at sunset
Stunning views for evening meals in the garden at The Boathouse
Second bedroom 2 x single or 1 x double
Log burner and lounge view
Bathroom with shower, toilet and wash basin.
The Boathouse Garden, private, stunning views and hot tub overlooking the water and sunsets
Sunset from The Boathouse lounge door looking towards the harbour....stunning views!
Wendy house at The Boathouse
Views from the Boathouse across the River Yar
Scow Sailing at the Boathouse
Views from the garden Boathouse
Boathouse garden in the snow
Yarmouth Harbour sunset
Sunset outside the Boathouse and River Cottage looking down towards the harbour
Swan outside The Boathouse and River Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
loznic
London
1 review
“A glorious light filled holiday cottage with a wonderful commanding position overlooking a tidal estuary.”
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

The Boat House has become a regular favourite. The coastline and town of Yarmouth are included in the designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and for good reason. You can recline in an enormous bed looking out at wading birds on the estuary, sit in the enclosed garden watching the tide go in and out, walk the path alongside the estuary to the nearest gastro pub and be greeted by other walkers and locals along the way. It is a beautiful spot with gorgeous views, near a small town with all the essentials and three minutes from the ferry port. A fabulous reatreat in winter and summer alike. We've often had lunch in the garden in mid November and February.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness of the venue and its unrivalled position
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald H
Carterton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 14 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We've recently come back from our sixteenth stay at the Boathouse and that speaks for itself! The position is magical overlooking the estuary with all the birds - skeins of Brent geese and over a hundred black tailed godwit one morning. It's blissful to sit in the enormous bed with binoculars at hand and watch the wild life, or to sit on the sun loungers on the veranda after a day out. Our dog loves it too and the garden is enclosed and completely safe for him. I can think of no more idyllic place on the Island. The actual accommodation is excellent and has everything we could possibly need and more. The location is very close to the ferry and the centre of Yarmouth yet looking out of the Boathouse you feel you are miles away. It's very easy to get to beautiful walks even without a car. There are red squirrels on the walk along the estuary. We hate to leave each time and are booking already for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“We intend to return as soon as possible!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We have stayed at The Boathouse on several occasions over the last few years, and we have never had any reason to regret it! The views are fantastic, the position is convenient both for the Lymington ferry and for Yarmouth town centre where there is a selection of pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as other interesting shops.
We have two dogs, and the Island is generally dog friendly, Yarmouth being no exception.
From the Boathouse there is a footpath (the trackbed of a one-time railway) round the end of the estuary, eventually to Freshwater.
The owner, Nigel, is very friendly and helpful; any problems dealt with quickly.
The only downside that we can think of is that car parking is inadequate; but I believe this problem is now being addressed.
All in all, we will have no hesitation in returning in 2012 for another enjoyable holiday in such surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The parking
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurence...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This cottage is a heavenly holiday destination”
Reviewed 4 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We keep coming back here as we simply can't find anywhere else that we prefer! The location is perfect for relaxation, good walks, great food in local pubs. The Boathouse is very well appointed, has a fantastic big comfy bed from which we watch the tides changing and the birds feeding on the estuary. The garden is enclosed, so safe for our two dogs and the house is both human and dog friendly. The owner is incredibly helpful - we lost the keys on one visit and it wasn't a problem at all. We cannot recommend this holiday destination enough and would urge anyone looking for a peaceful, quiet, clean and tidy holiday cottage to look no further than this little piece of heaven on the isle of wight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace T
Godalming
1 review
“Character, charm and tranquility”
Reviewed 25 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Oh how we loved our stay at the boathouse this August. My wife and I booked a week at the Boathouse with our 8 year-old son and daughter who turned 1 the week we were there. This small and compact holiday home is on one floor, with just four rooms.

There is one very large main bedroom (with a gigantic bed) and a view that is just spectacular. As the tide comes in and out and the sun rises and sets, boats come and go, birds flock and disappear and a family of swans come and say hello! I took hundreds of photos of this view. There is a good size living area with a two seated sofa, coffee table, tv, stereo, small dining table and kitchen area. It house all the basics... And more. I was stunned to find an iron, a washing basket as well as a highchair for my daughter. They manage to hide away everything you could possibly need, as well as a host of board games (for when the weather isn't so good, it does happen).

There is another bedroom with two single beds (children's beds really) and a whole box of toys hidden away in a cupboard. There is a shower, toilet and sink in the small bathroom, but again, it maybe compact, but there's everything you need. On top of all this, there is a gas barbecue and a generous amount of garden furniture (we invited my parents for a barbecue one evening as well as some friends and had a fantastic evening in the garden).

A ten minute walk from the centre of town and ferry crossing.

I would argue that it sleeps four (two adults, two children), rather than six adults as stated. We struggled to get the sofa bed out, the two single beds are smaller than average and the dining table certainly wouldn't seat six (you could sit outside though, weather permitting).

As the last reviewer said, yes, there are a few cobwebs and a bit of dust. BUT this is a BOATHOUSE, it has wonderful charm and character. If never stated it was a luxury home. It suits two adults and two children perfectly. On arrival, we were met with a chilled bottle of wine, a packet of ginger stem biscuits and a pint of milk. I think that's service.

We will return to the boathouse, hopefully next year. We loved it and recommend to any other family who love a fun filled holiday on the Isle of Wight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The hob - really needs updating
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing