We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The patio at Beach Cottage is the perfect place to enjoy the sun setting over the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio at Beach Cottage is the perfect place to enjoy the sun setting over the sea
The living room in Beach Cottage has a log fire and stunning sea views The woodlands next to the cottage back onto the sea at Fort Victoria Country Park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
The patio at Beach Cottage is the perfect place to enjoy the sun setting over the sea
The living room in Beach Cottage has a log fire and stunning sea views
The woodlands next to the cottage back onto the sea at Fort Victoria Country Park
Brand new (2017) hand-built kitchen, with tall fridge-freezer, integrated dishwasher & Zellige tiles
Compton Beach, one of the most stunning beaches in southern England, is a 10 minute drive away
The dining room is beautifully equipped for an great foodie's holiday by the sea
The gardens at the front of the cottage
At the rear of Beach Cottage there is a breakfast patio and a summer house in the garden
There are stunning views of the Solent from the woodland paths outside the cottage
The master bedroom in Beach Cottage is at the front of the property, and has fabulous sea views
Over 50% of the island is designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, most of it in the west
The living room looks out onto the gardens in front and the sea
The woodlands behind the cottage are full of wooden sculptures, wildlife and secret paths
The kitchen at Beach Cottage is fully equipped for cooking, has a dishwasher and washing machine
The twin room in Beach Cottage, overlooking the rear garden and the woodlands behind
The beach and woodlands at Fort Victoria Country Park
Beach Cottage has an wood burning stove and a solid wood surround
There are fabulous cycle and walking routes starting right next to the cottage
Next to the cottage is Fort Victoria, where there is a planetarium and a marine aquarium
The sea front right in front of the cottage
Fort Victoria beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GrahamVR4
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Distinctly underwhelmed”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After reading previous reviews we had high hopes for this cottage. We have stayed in many similar properties throughout the UK so our expectations were not unrealistic. Firstly, the good points - the location is fantastic, especially if you love walking and have a dog with you. The country park and the beach are a stones throw away, a great café/bar is similarly close and the whole island is very dog-friendly. The kitchen is well-equipped and the cottage was clean on our arrival. The disappointing points - There was no information pack (unless you print out the online info).This property can on paper take 6 people so that presumably explains why the lounge is crowded with furniture. One of the armchairs had to be moved to view the cupboard TV and the "Laura Ashley" sofa was well past its comfortable best. That meant moving 2 of the armchairs in front of the sofa to sit in the evening. Part of our reason for choosing this property was based on the strong impression given by the photo that the rear garden was enclosed and was accessed directly from the back door. That is not the case. The cottage is separated from the garden by an access road which is used by people and cars from the other cottages. Allowing the dog out unattended is therefore not possible. The communal grassed area is easily accessible but the advice to ourselves to keep our dog on a lead whilst there does not seem to be followed by other residents. The summer house is also prominent in the photo. You have no access to that feature. The log fire is also mentioned both in the description and by previous occupants. In every other similarly equipped cottage we have stayed in the fire has been made up and there has been a supply of extra coal/logs with instructions on where to buy more supplies. The fire here was empty with no logs to use if needed. This is not a cheap rental and when newly featured probably justified most of the praise given. We were unimpressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: As described
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2014
In such a fabulous location, with so much outdoor space on the doorstep, this is a welcome opportunity for most of our guests to get their families away from the TV and outside playing in the fresh air in a safe and secure environment. This is why we have configured the living room furniture to be facing each other, and not lined up facing the TV. We appreciate this doesn't suit everyone's behaviour on holiday.

We certainly do provide logs and kindling wood, firelighters and matches for our guests, but we don't do this (for lots of reasons) during the summer months. May is, I'm afraid, past the cut off point for this service.

Our welcome packs are emailed to our guests, as many of our guests prefer to know what to do and where to go well before their holiday. Also, some of our recommendations need to be booked in advance. However, in future we will print out a copy of the welcome pack and leave it in the cottage as a back up.

Thank you for noticing that the cottage was very clean. Unlike most holiday rentals we do not use contract cleaners. We use a local housekeeper who takes enormous pride in preparing the cottage spotlessly clean during every turnaround. I once caught her removing the powder tray from the washing machine and cleaning it with a toothbrush! We are not exactly sure what is meant by the sofa being 'past it's comfortable best', because it is professionally cleaned regularly. But if it is in any way broken or stained it will be removed and replaced immediately.

Thanks for your comments,

Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanBarto...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location, very well equipped cottage which, with the log fire for the evenings became a cosy and relaxing short break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very high spec. cottage.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Beach Cottage enjoys a superb and quiet location at Fort Victoria, overlooking the Solent, towards Lymington. As the title suggests it is comfortably furnished and fitted out to a very high specification, almost unknown in holiday rentals.
It's proximity to the beach, to Yarmouth and to Freshwater Bay is also in it's favour and the nearby woodland walks are quite lovely.
I have only one suggestion which in my opinion would improve the property and that is, that the chest of drawers in the twin bedded room be replaced with a wardrobe, giving hanging space to one side and shelving to the other.
However, having said that, it is the third cottage which we have rented on the island and by far the best. I would certainly stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: No wardrobe in twin bedded room and couldn't get reception on TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This cottage was exactly what we were looking for. Clean and tidy and most important, quiet.
We had everything that we needed with the bonus of lovely views.
We would recommend and are hoping to go back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHornby
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly escape”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A lovely cottage in a lovely spot of the island - clean with great facilities and panoramic sea views, the only negative is that you may not want to leave.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;