We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend”

Review of Tapnell Manor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
10 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hanine F
1 review
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just had the most fantastic weekend staying at Tapnell Manor. We were a group of 17 friends celebrating a friend before her upcoming wedding. Our party included a pregnant guest and a 3 month old baby- we all had a great time. Chloe was extremely accommodating and made the booking process very easy. We used the conservatory leading out into the large garden for a casual dinner on Friday. The kitchen is aspirational with two dishwashers, an Aga and a conventional oven. The house is perfectly located and we visited the nearby Chessell Pottery Barn and went surfing at the nearby Compton Farm beach. We used the garden for a lovely cocktail party and the large dining room for a luxury three course dinner. A large outdoor table hosted lovely breakfasts in the surrounding gardens. The rose garden became the site for a relaxing yoga lesson. And we all slept extremely well in the comfortable beds after a tough week at work! The nearby honesty shed supplied last minute essentials like dishwasher tablets. We did not have enough time to use all of the lovely reception rooms. Gorgeous fresh flowers decorated the ground floor rooms. We had the most fantastic time and cannot recommend a weekend here more strongly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina G
1 review
“Classy, charming and child-friendly”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Tapnell is a lovely old house with a super-relaxed atmosphere: there is a big farmhouse kitchen, with Aga, and both elegant dining and drawing rooms with more casual lounge and conservatory, as well as outside eating options. Bedrooms are large and comfortable, bathrooms are modern. The gardens are lovely to stroll in and the views fantastic. Ideal for children as play barn and animals are on site.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just returned from a long weekend. The house and gardens were amazing and the views stunning. Our hosts have been fabulous, nothing was too much trouble.We had a meal at the Cow Co yesterday and it was fantastic. The service was excellent and the food could not be faulted. The fillet steak I had was the best I have ever tasted.
The farm was so good, the children absolutely love it as did the parents.
We were all sad to leave and cannot wait for our next visit!
I cannot recommend it highly enough

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Hi Caroline,
Thank you for leaving us such a brilliant review about not only Tapnell Manor, but also all aspects of the farm. It is great to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves, and we'll look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
All the best for the rest of 2017! :)

Kind regards
Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigate6...
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation and fab location”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Couldn't fault the location or the lodges. Fully equipped with everything you need and some. Lots to do especially for the children who were so worn out with all the activities that they were ready for bed by 8pm, leaving my wife and I to enjoy a peaceful evening with a glass of wine or 2. So relaxing and brilliant that we could take our dog with us (he gets stressed in kennels) but will warn other people of the cocky young game ranger giving it large with a gun and threatening to shoot our dog, who incidentally is an impeccably well behaved Dobie cross. He really upset my wife and kids and he's lucky I didn't get to 'chat' with him! Little wanker.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for Tapnell Manor.

It sounds like you all enjoyed a very active holiday with us at the farm, and I am sorry to hear about your incident with the game keeper. They should not impede on our holiday guest' experience, and we can only apologise for their actions. We will definitely look into this to prevent anything similar happening again in the future.

We hope that, despite this we will see you again in the future :)

Many thanks

Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S
1 review
“Brilliant country weekend”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It's in a fantastic location and has a proper country house feel to it which is absolutely charming and exactly what I was looking for. The host (Tom) was extremely accommodating and had everything ready for our arrival. Lots of fun things to do on the farm along with great walks in the countryside and to the beach, with good pubs near by. Cow Co restaurant is great and I would definitely recommend going for anyone that stays there, great food and fun atmosphere. Will def visit again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Hi William

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. Great to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves.

Hopefully see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing