We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular self catering barn, perfectly located”
other travellers have booked this property
Large Farmhouse Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Farmhouse Kitchen
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Large Farmhouse Kitchen
Kitchen
The Old Dairy
Sitting Room
Treble bedroom with shower
King size zip link bed with ensuite bathroom
ensuite bathroom
Patio with views across our farmland
Kitchen table seats 12
Large farmhouse kitchen
Red Squirrel in Kemphill Woods
Silage making in the summer. Grass is cut, chopped and stored back at the farm
Silage making
Back at the farm the grass is rolled to make it air tight and covered in plastic for storage
Cows eat the silage when housed during the winter months.
During the summer months the cows graze the surrounding fields
Summer grazing
Kemphill Woods. Lovely walk in our woodland along 1.6 mile of track.See a  Red Squirrel
Meet the cows at Kemphill Farm
Fox Cub outside it's den at Kemphill Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ryde, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate A
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spectacular self catering barn, perfectly located ”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our annual family get together took place on the Isle of Wight this year and Kemphill Old Dairy was the chosen venue. What a wonderful find! Perfectly located just 10 mins drive from Fishbourne ferry terminal (unfortunately Wightlink will not get such a positive review!...terrible terrible disorganisation, but that's another review!); the Old Dairy first impressions were excellent. Spacious accommodation which was accurately described. Prior to arrival Sue made sure all questions were answered and helpfully booked our ferry crossings for us at discounted rates. My son (22 months) was with us and Sue reassured us how they'd made the Old Dairy family suitable with a full sized cot, highchair and plenty of space for him to explore in a safe way.

As a barn conversion you'd have to recognise that rooms will be darker and slightly creaky but they were set out well each with private bathroom facilities. The kitchen was huge and the hub of the whole barn which made the week special as we could all gather and eat together.

We loved that we could wander the farm at our own accord and were helpfully directed to local walks across the fields by Sue and Ron. The 'welcome pack' (including wine and chocolates) was most welcome and a thoughtful gesture by the hosts. We loved how well the house was kitted out (lovely full sized bath towels always win me over), my son loved the pond full of carp waiting to be fed a little bread and that the cows came right up to the barn edges for their noses to be scratched!

Minor (and they are minor) points to mention are (for a full review): the hot water system had a bit of a mind of its own and a hot shower was sometimes hit or miss during the stay. Given the boiler was run on a bio-mass system, this could be a reason. Equally, the showers probably just shouldn't have been run at the same time! Overall I felt that some of the fixtures and fittings could do with a little update and refresh. Finally, i had a slight issue with the cleanliness given we found several bins with previous occupants rubbish within, a random pair of mens pants and empty sweet packets in bed side drawers. Perhaps just missed at the change over.

Nothing above had any significant impact on our stay (maybe the hot water raided a cursed word or two when we were wet from a rainy day and wanted a warm shower). Sue and Ron rectified the issues immediately.

We'd come back in a heartbeat. Can't recommend this place enough for a family holiday with a difference. Thank you Sue and Ron for a wonderful location and stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words.
I will make sure Ron keeps the boiler stoked up for hot water.
I do apologies for the items left in bins ,and random items, I will make sure ladies are aware of this on the change over. I am usually very particular about such things, so sorry they were missed.
Glad you all enjoyed your stay , and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terenceja...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable, modern acomodation with great views.”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We are five couples who met through the Citroen Special Club. We are from all parts of the UK and after many years touring in our cars (USA, Russia, Croatia, etc. etc.) . Now we still like to meet up for a holiday and this is how we came to be at Kemp Hill Farm. The former milking parlor exactly met our needs, an en-suite bedroom for everyone with high quality beds, a large well equipped kitchen/dining area. A comfortable lounge with seats for everyone, and as a bonus a huge window with splendid views across the rolling countryside. An outside eating area with Bar-b-Que, and even charcoal was provided. Our hosts Ron and Susan were the perfect hosts balancing the difficult task of "being helpful" with "being intrusive" perfectly. Did I mention the "welcome pack" of essentials? Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: I'd only be nit picking if I answered this.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“None of us ever wanted to leave, a dream of a place.”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 10 adults and one toddler, friends of all ages, some couples and some singles, this property suited us all. Very well equipped and spacious property and the owners and son were really friendly and accommodating but never intrusive. We had a fantastic time and all fell in love with the island and it's friendly folk! We loved eating our breakfast and lunches out on the patio in front of amazing views over open countryside being entertained by the cows on and around the farm! We had the privilege to watch them being released into the fields after their long winter confinement, a truly magic sight! The barn sits atop the gently slopes and we could see it's welcoming lights from the village as we returned from our evening walks. The bedrooms were very large and all had ensuites which were needed with such a large group. Highly recommend this property and truly hope to return for another visit.
If we had any criticisms it was the duvets which were all single on the beds that were zip-linked to make superkings, this made couples sleep ' apart ' ( not what a couple want on holiday! ).
Also two of the downstairs bathrooms had clear glass windows making toilet/ shower/bathtime time very public unless you kept the blind permantly closed!! The table would benefit greatly by a ' lazy Susan ' too as it's so big we all had to stand or walk round to get at food!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views!!!!
Liked least: the small duvets
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friends holiday”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really worth it lovely views of the country side. The old dairy was spacious for the 10 of us. Great large bedrooms and bathrooms.
No more dairy cows now but have Bulls for steaks, head to the White hart inn in havenstreet to sample the beef.
Would recommend and would love to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the views
Liked least: Frustrating wifi. Lack of outdoor garden space - very small and fenced off
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Champagne flutes now added, Still pondering on the hot tub.
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing