We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back Again!”
other travellers have booked this property
coastguard cottage, built as a coastguard station.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
coastguard cottage, built as a coastguard station.
View of cottage from bowling alley, best place to enjoy a jug of pimms at the end of a hot day. Sea View Beach a short traffic free stroll from the cottage. Very safe beach with rock pools.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
coastguard cottage, built as a coastguard station.
View of cottage from bowling alley, best place to enjoy a jug of pimms at the end of a hot day.
Sea View Beach a short traffic free stroll from the cottage. Very safe beach with rock pools.
Ryde has a swimming pool with a view of the boating lake, with a retractable roof in the summer.
Ryde harbour, grab fish n chips and watch the boats, great place for the kids to crab.
Lake on the Esplanade where you can hire swan boats.
The needles on a clear crisp winters day.
St Catherine's light house, open to visitors most afternoons in the summer months.
View from Ryde pier at sunset.
Alfresco dining at it's best, The Spy Glass Ventnor.
Swimming pool on The Esplanade in Ryde with the retractable roof open.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ryde, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
POBRGD
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back Again!”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just returned from our 3rd visit to this lovely cottage and looking forward to booking our next! I think we have found our ideal getaway - cottage, location and value cannot be beaten. Laura (the owner and very helpful) makes sure the cottage is kept in tip top condition and has equipped it with everything you could need. Lovely cottage and great location on this special island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kier0787
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Excellent cottage!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from our stay in the Isle of Wight, and we were lucky enough, not only to have had the best week of weather of the whole summer, but also got to stay in a lovely cottage whilst we were there.

The cottage itself is really easy to find, and has great views over the beach and beyond. The ice rink is opposite, and along the way you also have a Super Bowl.
The decor of the cottage is perfect for a rental, it is plain, modern, and simple. The lounge/dining area is spacious, and there is rocking chair in the corner to cosy up on. the fire is there if you need it (electric), and a great flat screen TV.
The kitchen is lovely and clean, with everything you could possibly need if you get caught out by the wether (pots, pans, loads of cutlery), there is even tins of beans, HP sauce, tomato ketchup, tea bags and sugar in the cupboard.

There is a downstairs loo, and upstairs there is a separate toilet from the bathroom.
The main bedroom is lovely and airy, with those great views. the window is perfect with a window seat to enjoy the views.

The spare room is great, we just used it for the luggage as it was just me and the boyfriend, but would be perfect for anyone who has kids. there is even a selection of board games to keep them quiet ;)

So all in all you will not be disappointed with this rental at all, we loved it.

The property is in the ideal location of Ryde with plenty of restaurants, bars and pubs to keep you going all year! just a short walk and you will find loads to eat and drink, and as it is a small island (only 23 miles across) you will find everything a stones throw away.

The ONLY con with the property is that there is no wifi. which didn't impact on my rating as you can easily get 3G and 4G on your phone.
On other thing, you have to pay for parking between 10am and 6pm. we found free parking on Park Road (next to Star Street) just a short walk up the hill, park on the side of the road, we were fine.
Please read my other reviews on restaurants in Ryde as i have some great recommendations.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review...what are you waiting for? book it up now! :)

Oh and by the way, Laura (the owner) is amazingly friendly and guide you through every step of the booking process. any questions were answered very quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: no Wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl0s09
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was the fourth time we have visited the Isle of Wight, and the first time at Coastguard cottage ... we were not disappointed.
The owner is very friendly and helpful, always quick to respond to any questions you may have. The cottage itself is excellent. Nice fresh decor and in a great location on the seafront. I would recommend this cottage to anyone, and will certainly stay here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathyF950...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stylish comfortable cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a beautiful cottage, ideally situated for the beach and shops at Ryde. It is especailly convenient if you have no car as the bus station and train station are across the road. Laura, the owner, was very helpful at all stages of the booking. We had a very relaxing holiday and had everything we needed for our comfort in the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the seaside decor and the corner bath and bathroom
Liked least: We had winter quilts on the bed in July and it was rather hot
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libertine...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Laura the owner was so helpful when I made enquiries I had a feeling that this place was going to be great and we weren't disappointed. The cottage is beautifully presented, not only in that is well kept and sparkling clean but there are also lots of nice extras you don't tend to expect in a self catering holiday home. We stayed for a week over the festive season and the cottage had also been decorated for us which was such a lovely touch. The lounge and dining area is more spacious than you would imagine with a modern electric fire (with remote control) that made the room very cosy. The main bedroom was also a good size with an extremely comfortable large bed and view of the sea and plenty of wardrobe/draw space. As with every room the bathroom is also beautiful with corner bath and fab shower over. The kitchen is compact but equipped with everything you need. I don't think you could pick a better spot to stay in Ryde as minutes from the beautiful beach at Appley as well as a short walk to the shops and restaurants as well as the transport network to access the rest of the island. Ryde also has great takeaways if you don't want to go out! We stayed as a couple but felt the cottage would also suit family with the twin second bedroom and nice touch of books and games left for you to use. The cottage doesn't have dedicated parking but there is metered parking outside and a public car park not far so don't let this put you off bringing the car - saying that we left ours at home and didn't have any regrets as the transport to and on the island is really good, we got a 7day bus pass and got around easily (even on bank holidays the service is really good). All in all a fabulous stay and we definitely recommend a stay here anytime of the year :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing