We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic break perfect place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfresco dining with sea views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Alfresco dining with sea views.
Walking on the local child friendly beach at Colwell Bay.  A 5 min walk from the chalet.
Having fun at Colwell Bay.
Rock pools at Colwell Bay.
Sunset looking back at the chalet from Colwell Bay.
Beautiful sunset at Colwell Bay.
Beach huts walking on the coastal path from Colwell Bay towards Totland Bay.
The Waterfront Pub at Totland Bay.  Great for a refreshing drink after a walk!
Garlic flowers at the Garlic Farm. A great place to visit!
Flowers at the Garlic Farm.
Feeding the peacocks at the Garlic Farm.
The pier at Yarmouth.  A 15 min walk from the chalet through woodland.
Detail of the pier at Yarmouth.
The pebble beach at Yarmouth.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
malcolm g
stottesdon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic break perfect place”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The accommodation was great , very clean and comfortable, very spacious with 2 good sized bedrooms. Excellent views and just a short distance to the beach. The owner Wendy was very helpful and informative. There is a small shop on site which provided all your essential needs and a also a laundrette .Freshwater was less than 5 minutes away with all your shopping needs and nice cafés and Oriental foods. The Island itself is beautiful with lots of attractions to suit everyone. We travelled round to Cowes, Ryde,The Needles Shanklin but we especially enjoyed Sandown with its pier and lovely cafe on the front which provided great cappuccino and cakes !! . It was great after a long day out to go back to the beautiful clean chalet relax and sleep
in a very comfortable bed. We will certainly be returning ASAP.
PS the weather was fantastic

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay at The Summerhouse Malcolm
Your comments not only help potential future guests decide if it's the kind of holiday they would enjoy but it helps me understand what is important for my guests in order to make their stay at The Summerhouse extra special. I do hope you decide to return. Warm Regards. Wendy. S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Dear Niki, Steve and Lacie,
Thank you for sparing the time to send a review to Trip Advisor as well as writing in The Summerhouse guest book. Your helpful suggestion re information about local shops, distance away, opening times etc has been noted. I'm sorry this was not immediately available to you but details are now listed in The Summerhouse for future guests.
Once again many thanks. Wendy. S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you may return to The Summerhouse. Warm Regards. Wendy. S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GoPlaces7...
1 review
“Everything you need on a holiday”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a nice holiday at Brambles Chine in Freshwater. The chalet was clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated. It is compact but has everything you need on a holiday. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay, it even included a Tassimo coffee machine as well as kettle and toaster, nice oven and hob, too! The beds were comfortable, there is a great selection of books, CDs and some games for children. There is a TV, DVD player, iron with ironing board and a hair dryer. There are laundry facilities on site for a small cost. You have to take your own towels, but washing up detergent, tea towel and sponge were included. All in all we had a great holiday accommodation and it's a short walk from the chalet down to the beach. Alumn Bay (the Needles) are very close and there are lovely beaches and Fort Victoria Park and Yarmouth Castle nearby. Other attractions are no more than 30 mins drive away. The owner, Wendy was very helpful and there is a lot of tourist information compiled in a booklet and tourist books to help plan your stay. Thanks for everything, if we're going to the Isle of Wight again, would definitely stay here next time, too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your comments with regard to your stay at The Summerhouse. It paints a picture for other potential guests who have never been to West Wight. We hope you will stay with us again. Warm Regards. Wendy. S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIRSTY N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic family holiday, with stunning views across the sea to the Needles”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The stunning little house, is just perfect for a little family break. Incredible views, perfect location for travelling around the island. But you need no go anywhere... as the Summerhouse offers everything you need. The beach is just across the grass and the wonderful restaurant on the beach is just perfect. I would highly recommend a holiday at the Summerhouse. Wendy the host is absolutely great and very efficient. It was refreshing to be able to book instantly and obtain immediate response to our questions. Thank you so much for a memorable holiday Wendy. As mentioned, we will be back again as soon as we can.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your review and comments Kirsty. It helps us enormously to have feedback from guests so that we can improve our service for the future. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to The Summerhouse again. Warm Regards. Wendy. S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing