We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ben w
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Outstanding property in a great location. A fantastic luxury getaway within the U.K. Ideal for families. We had a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
125jean
Horley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Fabulous holiday rental very large and spacious beàutifuly furnished and equipped. Greàt to hàve every bedroom en suite

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history of the rental
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BazJackSa...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend as a group of 3 couples. The ensuite facilities for each bedroom made this a very practical choice. The property has been fitted out to a high standard and is very secure (not surprising being in a fort !). The building itself is very interesting and a novel venue. The approach through an industrial estate is not particularly attractive but a minor issue. Views from the rooftop communal garden is no doubt spectacular on the right day but we didn't have good weather.
Very conveniently located for exploring the west of the IOW being handy for Yarmouth, Freshwater and the Needles.
The availability calendar looked rather empty and I suspect costs have been cut to reflect this. Therefore the lack of toiletries and a few other minor niggles are the only things that stopped me giving a five star rating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interesting historic building.
Liked least: Corners cut on daily basics.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjgsurrey...
Surrey UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic property”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We took our sons, their families and grandchildren for a week to the Well House Golden Hill Fort. It is a fantastic property which gets its name from the well in the master bathroom. The well is covered by glass and it is possible to see right down to the water. The property has four bedrooms, the master bedroom and bathroom is huge, the second bedroom largish. There are two twin rooms at the back which I would say we're rather small although both had en suite shower rooms. A travel cot and highchair are also available if needed.
The lounge is lovely, open plan and bright with large sash windows. The kitchen is very big and well designed with two ovens, microwave and a built in coffee machine! There is a seating area at a breakfast bar plus a small dining table and four chairs. All the white goods appeared to be brand new. The property is well furnished with underfloor heating. We found that the lower floor where the bedrooms are was rather chilly and the upper floor too hot and surprisingly, in fact astoundingly for a modern conversion, there was NO wifi nor any Internet connection AT ALL. There isn't DVD player either but there is a large TV with free view and an iPod dock which didn't seem to work. There is also a wonderful rooftop garden where the views are magnificent.
This is a brilliant property if you have small children but beware! The place has very little sound proofing within the property (but plenty between properties) so the patter of tiny feet sound like a herd of elephants dancing. I would say that apart from the lack of wifi the only thing this property could do with which isn't provided is a small table and chairs for outside as the evenings were lovely but there was no where to sit outside.
One last thing. There is a marvellous on site caretaker called Phil. He is around much of the time and responds quickly to any problems. All in all a wonderful beautifully designed property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: Very noisy as sound proofing is minimL
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toxopholi...
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
“An astounding property”
Reviewed 25 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

My wife and I have for several years now been enjoying self-catering holidays on the Isle of Wight, usually at the Eastern end. But this year we thought we would try the West Wight area. And aren't we glad we did! Being fond of spacious accommodation, the Well House at Golden Hill Fort took our fancy and it turned out to be as unique a break as we could ever have imagined.

The idea of a refurbished old fort seemed just a bit challenging for us old age pensioners but, once inside the property, we realised what an astounding transformation has taken place. The spacious areas are so bright, modern and comfortable that it is hard to believe that, in days gone by, British soldiers used these premises as their barracks and drew their water supply from the beautifully exhibited well that gives the house its name.

We particularly liked the big windows and the high vaulted ceiling enhanced by the clever mood lighting, the comfortable armchairs, the big TV and the ever so convenient parking. Special mention should also be made of the beautiful ensuites – what about those self-closing loo lids! The spacious kitchen invited some serious cooking and, like all the equipment in the house, its fittings were top notch.

Although the weather and our ages restricted any prolonged use of the roof garden, the views were magnificent and it was obvious that this could be a great amenity for younger visitors. Likewise the nearby beaches and attractions: although we had visited this part of the island before, actually living there gave us more opportunities to enjoy its natural beauty and to discover the local pubs, restaurants and places of interest.

All in all a very pleasant experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambience of the place
Liked least: Not being young enough to enjoy the roof garden fully
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing