We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

Stable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Bedroom 1 with shower en-suite
shower en-suite
Twin bedroom 2
Bath and shower room
Bedroom 3
Plenty of outdoor space
Stable Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jimmy2pen...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed at Stable Cottage with my husband over May Day bank holiday, and we had an absolutely brilliant time! The cottage is easy to find and really close to some great walks (approx. 20 mins to Freshwater Bay, and Compton Beach and Yarmouth and also accessible along some footpaths). We haven't got a car so got dropped off by friends, but the cottage is close a bus stop so we had no trouble getting further afield.

The cottage itself is beautiful, we were very taken with the decor and relaxed feel. It was spotless and contained everything we needed for a weekend. The kitchen is well kitted out, the garden area has a bbq and table, and the bathrooms are fab. Our favourite part though was the beautiful view from the main living area - it was so relaxing to sit with a glass of wine looking over green fields and paddocks!

We met Andrew, who was really friendly and helpful without being intrusive - a perfect balance. The info pack in the cottage was really useful, and we thoroughly enjoyed the tasty shortbread :)

We go to the Isle of Wight a fair bit, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thank you for your kind review and comments. They are always very welcome. We hope you can make a return visit. Warm regards Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“OUTSTANDING cannot recommend enough.”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are regular visitors to the island and we look forward to staying again. The accommodation has everything anyone would want. Every little detail is taken care of. The cottage is immaculate and well maintained. The family are very welcoming and very helpful with tips on good walks and places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thank you for a lovely review. It was great to meet you all. We are so glad you loved the cottage and hope to see you again soon... :)
Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodiep302
Norton Fitzwarren, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous find!”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We rented this cottage for 12 days over the Christmas and New Year period. Myself, my husband and two young children (3 & 4 years).
The cottage is bright, spacious and immaculately clean.
It has everything you need in the kitchen. Lovely bathrooms and comfie beds.
Our children loved it there and felt comfortable and 'at home'.
Andrew and Vicki were friendly and welcoming. They stayed in touch via email, even checking we had everything we needed on Christmas Day. They balanced this with giving us space to enjoy and lovely family holiday.
Excellent location for walks, the beach and local facilities.
We would definitely go back and stay again. We have recommended it to family and friends already.
Thank you Stable Cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
It was super to meet you all and we are so glad you had a well deserved family holiday. Warm wishes A&V
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a lovely week in Stable Cottage. The accommodation is comfortable and nicely done and we had everything we needed. The garden is fab (and we had the added bonus of being able to pick vegetables from the kitchen garden!) and house and garden together are perfect for a family holiday. We come to the IOW every year and this is one of our favourites - could quite happily have stayed a bit longer...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed the kitchen garden. Our aim is to try and finish the path this year. Warm regards from the IOW.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloé D
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our party included a wheelchair user, the stairs to the bedrooms could of been a problem but a slope outside the cottage proved very useful. Andrew also said we could park our car wherever was most convenient for the wheelchair.
The cottage was clean and tidy with plenty of space. Clean fluffy white hand towels were provided and crisp white sheets were already made up on the comfy beds.
Tea, coffee, sugar, milk, apple juice and Isle of Wight shortbread were waiting for us on our arrival, all of which meant our holiday could start straight away, unlike other places we have stayed.
Toilet roll, kitchen roll washing up liquid and washing up cloths were all provided, all items we usually take with us when going self catering.
Andrew even apologised for the rain, which did not spoil our stay.
There is nothing to fault in our stay at Stable Cottage, would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay on the Isle of Wight as it makes a great base to explore the island.
So a big thank you to Andrew and Vicki, hope your holiday was as good as ours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Some rain (not their fault of course)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and the kind card you sent. We are so pleased that you had a well deserved break. Warm greetings from us all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing