We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful - a home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

Stable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Bedroom 1 with shower en-suite
shower en-suite
Twin bedroom 2
Bath and shower room
Bedroom 3
Plenty of outdoor space
Stable Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nottingha...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful - a home from home”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

5 of us stayed here in June 2015 - My husband, our 3 year old and my mum and dad. Stable Cottage was everything we could have possibly wanted and more. The main living area is lovely, clean and spacious. We loved that we could cook, eat, chat and all hang out in the open plan space together. The kitchen is kitted out with everything you could possibly need. Upon arrival, there was tea, coffee, sugar, milk, apple juice and Isle of Wight shortbread - what a lovely welcome!
The bathrooms were both large, spotless with plentiful hot water. The beds were all very comfortable with crisp, clean linens. Bedrooms were a lovely size and the nights were so quiet and restful here.
The outside area is great - plenty of space to play football, run up to see the lambs and chase around after a toddler! 2 clearly marked parking spaces for guests, too.
Now I have to talk about Vickie and Andrew. We could not have wished for better hosts. They are such lovely, genuine, friendly people and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was memorable. They bought us some fresh baked scones and fresh (still warm!) homemade jam so we could have a cream tea one evening (utterly delicious and so thoughtful), not to mention dropping in with fresh strawberries and peas in the pod. This is genuine hospitality at its very best.
Freshwater itself it just stunning. The beach is 2 minutes (tops) in the car and the beach is clean, crystal clear water, with 2 small shops/cafes right there as well as car parking over the road. In the other direction as you come out of Stable Cottage is a Sainsbury's, fish & Chip shop and pharmacy.
Stable Cottage is part of why we had such an amazing, restful week. Many thanks to the Sutton family - you are such lovely people and we hope to see you again for another holiday!
Lisa, Paul, Roy, Barbara & Sam :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home...we miss Stable Cottage :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Wow, we are humbled by your kind review. You were lucky your stay coincided with the strawberry harvest :). We are so glad you had a lovely stay, we want all our guests to enjoy the Isle of Wight and stable cottage so we are very pleased you had a memorable holiday. Warm wishes Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure week of luxury”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stable Cottage is situated in the South West part of the Isle of Wight just outside of Freshwater. It is only 30 minutes drive from Newport and all other attractions in the north are literally no more than 45 minutes drive as an absolute maximum. Despite the IOW festival being on we had no issues with our journey.

Andrew and his family are really lovely down to earth people and they could not have done enough for us. They provided biscuits, tea and milk for our arrival and were always on hand either by phone or in person if there were any issues. My three year old daughter loved the trampoline and was able to run about in the garden which is what attracted me to Stable Cottage. We went to many attractions including Blackgang Chine, Alum Bay, Sandown, Shanklin and the Model Village all with very easy access via the roads.

Stable Cottage is clean, comfortable and very quiet which is ideal for families who want quality time together.

Overall I would have absolutely no hesitation in going back next year especially as my daughter cried when leaving and hasn't stopped talking about 'Our holiday home' since coming back.

Thanks again Andrew and family for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Location
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. The fact that your daughter didn't want to leave and called it 'our holiday home' is very sweet. We are so pleased when our guests feel at home and have a great rest/holiday. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ideal cottage to stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We introduced the Isle of Wight to our friends who came with us and I am so pleased that the cottage was absolutely perfect for our needs. The owner Andrew was very welcoming and supplied some tea, milk and biscuits which was a lovely gesture. Although we ate out and didn't cook at all, the cottage was very well equipped and clean. It was lovely and quiet and we watched the wildlife from the patio windows . Good hot water , plenty of space, comfy beds and great to return to after a busy day. We wouldn't hesitate in booking this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Position of bath taps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. I am still keen to hear your dining out suggestions. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay and that your friends enjoyed the Island. warm wishes A and V.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison29
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Highly recommend staying here, absolutely spotless, great value and really comfortable. Three double rooms, plenty of space for 6 of us, and plenty of space outside too including plenty of parking. Freshwater is a lovely place to visit (recommend the golf course) and Stable Cottage is in an ideal holiday cottage to stay in.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review. Certainly the golf course had a great location on top of the downs and is easily reached by foot from the cottage. We are sorry you didn't necessarily have the best weather, but hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShankiS
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Wonderful stay to make Isle of Wight trip more memorable”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The accommodation was very comfortable, in terms of location as well. To start with, Andrew (the owner) helped us from the beginning. He helped us to book ferry at a discounted rate. Also his suggestions and hospitality during our stay there made us feel at home.

The living room was comfortable with nice sofas, lots of books for kids and some toys as well.
The kitchen was well equipped. The outdoor area is also big with comfortable table and chairs and we had a nice breakfast outside in the morning.

The cottage is also close to many important attractions and walking paths.

Overall I didn't miss anything during our stay there and felt at home. I would definetely recommend this to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We were pleased to help you and your family with their visit. We are glad that it was a restful time for them before you moved on to the hustle and bustle of London! We hope to see you again some time. Best wishes Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing