We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ideal cottage to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

Stable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Bedroom 1 with shower en-suite
shower en-suite
Twin bedroom 2
Bath and shower room
Bedroom 3
Plenty of outdoor space
Stable Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ideal cottage to stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We introduced the Isle of Wight to our friends who came with us and I am so pleased that the cottage was absolutely perfect for our needs. The owner Andrew was very welcoming and supplied some tea, milk and biscuits which was a lovely gesture. Although we ate out and didn't cook at all, the cottage was very well equipped and clean. It was lovely and quiet and we watched the wildlife from the patio windows . Good hot water , plenty of space, comfy beds and great to return to after a busy day. We wouldn't hesitate in booking this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Position of bath taps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. I am still keen to hear your dining out suggestions. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay and that your friends enjoyed the Island. warm wishes A and V.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison29
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Highly recommend staying here, absolutely spotless, great value and really comfortable. Three double rooms, plenty of space for 6 of us, and plenty of space outside too including plenty of parking. Freshwater is a lovely place to visit (recommend the golf course) and Stable Cottage is in an ideal holiday cottage to stay in.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review. Certainly the golf course had a great location on top of the downs and is easily reached by foot from the cottage. We are sorry you didn't necessarily have the best weather, but hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShankiS
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Wonderful stay to make Isle of Wight trip more memorable”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The accommodation was very comfortable, in terms of location as well. To start with, Andrew (the owner) helped us from the beginning. He helped us to book ferry at a discounted rate. Also his suggestions and hospitality during our stay there made us feel at home.

The living room was comfortable with nice sofas, lots of books for kids and some toys as well.
The kitchen was well equipped. The outdoor area is also big with comfortable table and chairs and we had a nice breakfast outside in the morning.

The cottage is also close to many important attractions and walking paths.

Overall I didn't miss anything during our stay there and felt at home. I would definetely recommend this to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We were pleased to help you and your family with their visit. We are glad that it was a restful time for them before you moved on to the hustle and bustle of London! We hope to see you again some time. Best wishes Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
742cathyw
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent facilities for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stable Cottage. It had everything we needed. The teenagers enjoyed making homemade burgers in the spacious kitchen and playing basketball when they were not studying for their exams. It was great to have the open plan layout to chat to the family while making meals. Plenty of room in the bedrooms as well.

There are wonderful walks from the house - to Freshwater Bay, across the Downs on the Tennyson Trail or from the Causeway along a disused railway line to Yarmouth.
Hope to go back soon.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
We are so glad you had a lovely stay and wish the teenagers good luck with their exams!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLon...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family accommodation.”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely stay at Stable Cottage over Easter. We were a group with teenage children and grandparents and we all thought the accommodation was great. The cottage was spacious and spotlessly clean with everything we needed, including free Wi-Fi. The owners left some lovely homely touches such as Isle of Wight shortbread and fresh flowers and were very helpful and friendly without being intrusive.

There are plenty of excellent walks nearby. We particularly enjoyed the walk along the causeway, by the River Yar to Yarmouth. Freshwater is just a short drive away for local shops and the beach. Would absolutely recommend as a base for a family holiday and we hope to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We work hard to ensure the cottage is as clean as we would hope to find it and so it is always rewarding to hear kind comments such as yours. The walk to Yarmouth certainly is lovely. We hope to see you again some time. Best wishes from us all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing