We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic New Year in Cowes”
View across the Solent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the Solent
Stunning Period Property Entrance hall with seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View across the Solent
Stunning Period Property
Entrance hall with seating
Well equipped sitting room
Well equipped kitchen/breakfast room
Formal dining room with seating for 10
Master Bedroom with Balcony and sea view
Bedroom 1.  Can be king size double bed or twin singles
Bedroom 3.  Can be king size double bed or twin singles
Stunning Family bathroom with bath tub and separate shower cubicle
Ships ladder to the roof terrace
Bedroom 5 can be king size double beds or twin singles
Roof terrace with amazing panoramic views
Patio with dining for 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AGBWorces...
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Year in Cowes”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a fabulous stay at Cliffhanger,cerebrating New Year with a party of 10 friends. The house is located, just a few minutes walk from the main Cowes High Street and was perfect for us. Being spacious and very well equipped; it fulfilled all of our needs. Its tough to find such a high quality house with 5 good double bedrooms and a fantastic location. With New Year becoming a tradition for our group; this has to be one of the best ever. The owner is very very easy to deal with; responded very promptly to all communications and was a pleasure to deal with. I would highly recommend this property, you will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne198...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay at this house”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stay at this house for 4 nights. It was a family holiday with our 2 year old , my husband , sister in law and grandad. The house is split over 4 floors so plenty of room so you don't feel on top of each other. There is 3 ensuite bathrooms which meant we all got our own bathroom to use . The owner gave us a cot and highchair. The only thing that bothered me was the stairs as I kept having to make sure my 2 yr old didn't go down them. If we had stairgates it would have been perfect. I didn't ask for them as we were out a lot of the time. Location to the high street is excellent!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Delighted to read these guests gave this house such a good review. I appreciate the comments about the stairgate and will certainly look into providing one. The magnificent spiral staircase doesn't lend itself to the use of a child gate but a gate could be used across a doorway. The Holiday Rental Agreement which is approved and signed by the guest does refer to the staircase and the danger it might pose to a toddler if unsupervised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dione B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing House and views of Cowes”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just had two nights staying at the Cliffhanger for a friends Hen Weekend. Excellent location and only 6 mins walk from the terminal. The house was amazing and every room in the house was of a very high standard. The best views at the top of the house. Great outdoor space in the yard with lovely seating to enjoy the IOW Sun shine. Would highly recommend this house. Look forward to visiting the house next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views at the top of the house
Liked least: Climbing the stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buxtonfam...
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love this house.”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent a weekend at Cliffhanger for our mother's 80th birthday. As soon as we let ourselves in we knew we were going to love the house and we weren't disappointed when we'd explored from top to bottom - even getting mum up the ladder to the roof terrace so she could see the amazing view. It is fresh, bright and spotlessly clean, has a warm and comfortable feel to it, and is the perfect blend of modern decor with period features. The kitchen had everything in it that we needed and every room was a pleasure to spend time in. In short, we loved the house and would recommend it whole heartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staircase, views, lovely warm feeling.
Liked least: Neighbour's car parked on the drive when we arrived! Had to unload in the street.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
I am thrilled to hear you loved Cliffhanger and hope your mum had a wonderful 80th birthday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerri S
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What an amazing house!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for one night in October and were so impressed with this property. The house was immaculately presented with great attention to detail but felt welcoming and homely. We all loved this house the bedrooms were well appointed and comfortable with storage space for clothes and the family bathroom was amazing.

The owner was helpful and answered my queries quickly and left a welcome pack including some lovely chocolate biscuits.

The roof terrace views were fantastic and we had a wonderful stay. Cannot recommend this property enough you will fall in love with it just like we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was great but the house was amazing.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. I hope these guests will come again soon and stay longer than one night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing