We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom with Balacony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Master Bedroom with Balacony
Entrance hall
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Family bathroom
Bedroom 5
Roof terrace with amazing panoramic views
Patio with dining for 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rissola32
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed here for a hen do of 8 girls and we absolutely loved the place! The pictures don't do it justice - it's huge but homely with lots of entertaining space. Even though the weather wasn't good enough to enjoy the terrace or garden we still loved it and didn't want to leave. Chris was really helpful from the beginning. I can't wait to go back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
I am so pleased these guests loved the house and hope they book a return visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShonaMN
2 reviews
“A perfect getaway for a large group”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were a group of 10, including 3 children who loved this house-especially the easter egg hunt! It was perfect for a large group and the spiral staircase is a real focal point. The kitchen was really homely, and the large entrance was useful for all the coats and shoes! Even with 10 of us it never felt cramped, especially with a bathroom/shower on most floors. The views are spectacular from a coupke if bedrooms and the roof terrace is a great way to see Cowes day or night-amazing! All round I cannot praise this lovely home enough. It had all we needed and more. Thanks for making such a great place to visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
I am very pleased to hear these guests enjoyed their stay and look forward to their return at a future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy18639...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic house with great views”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 10 friends staying over new year. Cliffhanger was a fantastic house and the views from the top balcony at midnight were something not to be forgotten. The house was very comfortable and the bedrooms all beautifully appointed. Our one disappointment was the sitting room downstairs which did not really seat 10 people very comfortably, The house was in the perfect position to explore Cowes and the rest of the Isle of Wight

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2014
Delighted these guests found Cliffhanger a fantastic house and were able to enjoy the views, location and facilities of a very comfortable home. Feedback on the sitting room is much appreciated. It hadn't been raised by previous guests and I will investigate and see that the seating is comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
I am so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed their stay.
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
morriliz
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, lovely sea views”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Cliffhanger (7 adults, 1 infant). It was very difficult for us to find a decent property which suited everyone in our party and accepted children and animals. The property did not specifically cater for young children (no cot, no highchair), but we had brought a travel cot and booster seat which was fine and the owner was happy, as long as we accepted that it was not a child friendly house (eg big spiral staircase) and were vigilant. The owner also allowed us to bring two dogs on the condition that they stayed on the ground floor. The house itself was tastefully decorated throughout and well equipped. There was a large outdoor seating area with BBQ and a rooftop terrace with great views of the harbour. Three of the bedrooms had amazing sea views and the lounge had a DVD player, board games, playing cards etc so there was plenty to do on an evening. We read an earlier review from someone who had had difficulties in getting their full deposit returned. We had no problems in this regard. During our stay, one of the pictures did fall from the wall and the glass pane broke. We rang the owner immediately to inform him. He was very pleasant and fully accepted that it was not our fault. Our deposit was returned in full within a couple of days of leaving the property. We would definitely return and recommend this property for other large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views, comfy beds
Liked least: Wifi didn't work on ground floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Delighted to hear these guests enjoyed their stay at Cliffhanger and look forward to their booking again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing