We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strawberries

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
The open plan living and dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hockneyho...
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Strawberries is in a lovely spot close to the sea. The accommodation was clean and very well presented all looking freshly decorated. The bed was comfy for me but my sister found hers a little to hard.
We booked here after reading reviews and generally being able to accommodate disabled guests. The floors are all tile finish which is ideal for wheelchairs, the owner kindly supplied a ramp to gain access into the building but might I suggest a further smaller ramp for the inside as it can be tricky getting out again once your in the building.
As others have mentioned the lane from the main drive is unadoppted so a bit of care needed.
The outdoor space has a table and 4 chairs but could do with a couple of divisions to give a little privacy when your enjoying the sunshine.
All in all a lovely holiday let with friendly owners and a friendly pussy cat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Far from the Madding Crowd”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Not easy to find, but well worth it when you get there. Ideal for two couples with good size bedrooms and bathrooms on either side of the living area. Very well kitted out with comfortable beds. Location initially seems a bit out of the way, but distances are short on the Island and we drove to The Needles, Osborne House, Cowes without difficulty. Easy to drop down onto the coastal path and walk into Ventnor where you can buy some excellent seafood.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David G
1 review
“Truely uplifting surroundings both indoors and outdoors.”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location is excellent, very peaceful with beautiful sea views during the day followed by wonderful night skies as there is no light pollution. The accommodation is also excellent, very comfortable, well equipped, spacious and tastefully decorated. The only down side was the surface of the access road which was not very kind to cars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
915jackie
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Returned from a trip to the Isle of Wight ,October half term break. Had a wonderful stay at strawberries in Bonchurch. Chose this property because of the wide doors, open plan lounge, kitchen and wet room. Travelled with my partner and disabled son, who is a full time wheel chair user. Lucy the owner was very helpful and provided us with a ramp to get in property. Accomadation was totally wheelchair friendly and we managed very well. Lucy asked if we would like hand rails fitted but we declined as we took our own equipment. If you are disabled or care for a disabled person you will travel with equipment any way. Or you can hire anything nessassary from the local mobility shop in Ventnor. Bonchurch has a lot of history and made a great base to explore the island. Will definitely be returning in the future , strawberries is a real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing