We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really nice cottage in good location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Grebe Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Storytell...
1 review
“Really nice cottage in good location”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Really well set up cottage in a great location, we had a lovely weekend with the nice sea walks only up the road and good local places to eat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you for your nice review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your weekend.
We hope to welcome you and your family back to Grebe Cottage again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
711Megan
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night break at Grebe Cottage . It is such a cosy homely place with all the facilities you need and really comfortable beds . It is ideally situated opposite a pretty pond and only a 10 minute walk to the sea at Bonchurch. In the winter months ( I think October to March ) there is free parking right opposite the cottage . We loved being able to walk along the coastal path all the way to Ventnor where we found great places to have coffee , buy fresh fish and eat supper . A special mention must go to a lovely restaurant called Cantina. Really tasty freshly cooked meals and their own homemade bread . We will be back both to Grebe Cottage and to Cantina .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you Megan for your nice comments about Grebe Cottage and the area.
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod D
1 review
“Comfortable period charm in an ideal location”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I and our two small dogs recently spent a few very pleasant days at Grebe Cottage.  We really enjoyed its period charm and its ideal location, situated in the very quiet village of Bonchurch and yet within walking distance of Ventnor and a short drive from Shanklin.  The seafront is only a short walk away and, although we didn't use it, a cafe is just yards away.

We were very happy with the facilities at the cottage.  All mod cons, without in any way detracting from the period feel, a small outdoor patio at the back, and a spacious kitchen and shower/bathroom.  There's restricted parking outside the cottage but plenty of unrestricted space further into the village.

We particularly liked these Bonchurch attractions, all within walking distance of the cottage - the wonderful little 11th-century church; the house (private, with a blue plaque at the gate) where Dickens wrote the opening chapters of David Copperfield; the village pond, opposite the cottage, complete with ducks, carp and turtles (you can see them on the little island; we missed them until they were pointed out), and the precipitous Bonchurch Landslip, a wooded nature reserve and thrilling walk for dogs (and humans) that tumbles down to the coast from some height, along narrow, winding paths and several flights of steps.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thank you for your nice comments.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Grebe Cottage. It is a very special place. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nimrod512...
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage with great character in an unbeatable location”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a return visit to Grebe Cottage - we had good memories of our previous stay. The cottage has new owners, but standards are still top notch.

The cottage is in a superb position opposite Bonchurch pond. The beach and coastal path are just a few minutes' walk away. Ventnor and other local restaurants are within easy walking distance and there are some excellent longer walks close by.

The cottage itself has great character, has been fully refurbished, and is very comfortable. We particularly liked the outside areas and garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, character, comfort
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thank you for your nice comments about Grebe Cottage and it's location.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing