We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a Gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Medlar

The Medlar Kington
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Medlar Kington
The Medlar Farmhouse-style dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The Medlar Kington
The Medlar
Farmhouse-style dining kitchen
Farmhouse-style dining kitchen
Front parlour with logburner
The hall and stairs
17th Century wooden staircase
Twin bedded sitting room
Twin bedded sitting room
Vaulted roof in twin bedded sitting room
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Bathroom with double washbasin
Courtyard garden
Duke Street kington
Duke Street Kington
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kington, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Chris_and...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Medlar is a wonderful cottage, set on a very quiet main street in Kington. It is beautifully presented and to be honest has much much more than you would expect from a holiday let. The quality of both fitments and the provision of equipment is top class. And if you wish not to cook, there are many places to eat in Kington, but we could not resist the nearest, which provides excellent quality food at very reasonable prices and a choice of real ales.The Medlar rooms are very specious and quite quirky with many added touches to make the holiday very special.
Kington is a central place with many places of interest around and spectacular walks from the front door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity to spend a weeks holiday in a 14th century building
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review! So pleased you enjoyed yourselves- Kay Watson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl888...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“So full of character and charm”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved the Medlar it was clean and had all the modern conveniences we want but still had original features everywhere. So much character and charm. The owners were helpful and easy to contact.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain and...
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great retreat”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The Medlar lived up to our expectations with its homely and lovely charming feel. The holiday let had all that we required and we really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel to the house
Liked least: The noise from next door at night in the back bedroom. But we do live in a detached house.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele L
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at The Medlar 2 years ago and loved it so much we had to come back again. It did not disappoint. It is a really lovely quirky old cottage full of history. It dates back to the middle ages. Fully equipped and comfortable we couldn't ask for more.
We will be back again!!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janebeck2...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Excellent cottage, very clean and well equipped. The stairs were very novel and certainly not suitable for small children although my visiting 3 year old grandson loved it and used his bottom!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hard bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing