We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Your private orchard Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your private orchard Garden
Front entrance within covered grape vine terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Your private orchard Garden
Front entrance within covered grape vine terrace
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
View from sitting room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Shower room
Orchard Garden
Meadow View to the front
Meadow to the back
Meadow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hatfield, Hertfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary N
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Came from Ireland to UK for my Nephews Graduation and booked this lovely place over the net and so happy I did. Had a wonderful time at "Meadow View" , the hosts Maureen & John were so warm and inviting and always there if you needed them but certainly did not intrude on our privacy. Attached to our annex was a covered outside eating/drinking/relaxing area with seats & tables and lovely outdoor lights where we enjoyed a drink in the evenings in total privacy. Had a lovely meal at the RAJ indian 2 minutes drive away in village which has fish/chips shop/co op/salons etc, Perfect Spot for lovely walks etc. Will certainly return. 10/10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Privacy. Hosts.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot & lovely hosts”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just a weekend stay for us and our two dogs. Lovely warm welcome from Maureen. Late when we arrived so a quick trip to nearby Potters Bar for a pizza and late opening co-op wine section before a peaceful night. Great views in the morning and instantly onto a footpath through fields and woods. Perfect for what we wanted, thanks

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan0shea
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our arrival at meadow view was a precursor of what was to come, we were made to feel very welcome by both John and Maureen who were only too happy to share their home grown vegetables and DVD collection with us. We selected Meadow View for its self catering facilities as we were all keen to prepare our own food for our short stay... needless to say, we were lacking for nothing. The hospitality did not stop there as we were treated to further gifts of food and any help we needed to complete our culinary attempts at greatness. Our only regret is that we could not extend our stay into the following week due to previous bookings. My friends and I greatly appreciated the lovely atmosphere that has been created at Meadow view, and I for one will be planning to return for no other reason than it is such a lovely place to stay.

Thank You again John and Maureen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: John and Maureen
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshB648
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect getaway, with amazing hosts!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After deciding on a last minute trip away for the weekend with my girlfriend and pup, we came across this gem on TA and had to give it a go. As the area is within the hour from where we live, it seemed the perfect place to have a break for just a short trip.

I must say, I am extremely glad we did! What a great place, beautiful surroundings and extremely accommodating hosts. Maureen and John went out of their way to help us settle in and were warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived. We were advised on the best places to eat and drink and with such lovely walks ended up at the local pubs on more than one occasion! (They are all dog friendly as well which was a bonus)

The accommodation was lovely, extremely homely and really cosy in the evenings - even the pheasants squawking in the evening made it feel like we were miles away from civilisation (which you're not, really).

The Candlestick is a fantastic pub (about 1.7 miles to walk via a lovely public path through woods and fields - it's really quite beautiful) to drink and eat in and fortunately as we had such great weather, everyone was out enjoying the sunshine which gave the afternoon - and the weekend - a really great buzz.

We will definitely be retuning at some point and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for some peace and relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. You all were the most perfect guests and much appreciated for your caring consideration. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and truly hope that you will return. Archie is adorable we would like to have kept him for ourselves.
Thank you all once again
Very best wishes
Maureen and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam12013
kent
2 reviews
“Idyllic country setting with two lovely hosts”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Meadow View in June when visiting family and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The owners were very attentive to our needs and even had a welcome food pack which even contained some homemade jam waiting for us. They also gave us our own space to relax and enjoy our stay in the beautiful country setting and we would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole overall experience
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing