We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect birthday weekend at The Hyde”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hyde

Four poster bedroom at The hyde
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Four poster bedroom at The hyde
The Hyde's dining room in the medieval hall that seats 20 The Hyde from outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Four poster bedroom at The hyde
The Hyde's dining room in the medieval hall that seats 20
The Hyde from outside
The Hyde's private steam train available on request
The Hyde's large, well-equipped kitchen
The Hyde's Solar Bedroom - Bed can be king size or twins
Hyde Bathrooms to luxuriate in
View from hill above The Hyde of surrounding countryside
Hyde's Wendy house
Hyde's Tennis court
One of three trout lakes at The Hyde
There's even a mini maze to entertain the kids
Elizabethan barn that houses bikes and games
Hyde's south facing terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Bromyard, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eaw55
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect birthday weekend at The Hyde”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful weekend at the Hyde celebrating an 80th and 70th birthday with all the children, grandchildren and partners. A fascinating and impressive building, beautiful surroundings and with the space to come together as a family as well as secluded spots for a little peace and quiet. I think we did almost everything - steam train rides, boating and fishing on the lake, tennis, croquet, ping pong in the barn, playing 'shop' in the wendy house, formal dinners in the tudor dining room, wonderful sunday lunch on the patio and BBQ breakfast. Both the main house and the cottage were incredibly comfortable and well equipped and we were warmly welcomed by Peta on arrival. The Hyde was such a special place and was a key factor in a memorable and happy weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
It was a pleasure to meet you all when you came to stay for your important birthdays weekend and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and made the most of everything The Hyde has to offer. If you have any more birthdays we can help you celebrate, please let us know!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calzac201...
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful medieval house with all the modern amenities but bursting with character.The setting is beautiful and all you will hear in the garden is bird song and sheep in the meadow next door. I recommend it as a memorable place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Hyde so much and thank you for recommending. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLIVE H
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Plenty of room, really comfortable house”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

18 of us go away twice a year to a large house and this was one of the better ones. Plenty of room, very well equipped kitchen and warm as some large houses can be very cold.

Lovely to be able to light the three fires when needed, we did two lovely walks and our husbands fished in the lake and caught 2 trout.

Great time had by all, would recommend

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide prospective guests about your stay with us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Hyde.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2adults3k...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Fantastic house & grounds”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend for a family birthday celebration. It allowed 3 generations of a family to come together comfortably and with plenty of space. The house is fantastically fitted out & furnished, the accommodation is really flexible and allows for people to come together and have their own space. From 3yrs to 70 years old, we all loved it. Very helpful team also pre-booking to help sort out anything we wanted. We will definitely find an excuse to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your family birthday weekend so much. Please find an excuse to come back soon as we'd love to see you again! Best wishes. Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenda P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“70th Birthday with family”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Loved The Hyde on website so visited in 2014 to see if this house was what we wanted. In reality, it was even better 'in the flesh'. The owner, Peta, made us welcome then and after booking was so helpful with my questions. Did my first on-line shop and Peta's staff duly put everything away. We made the most of all the facilities - clay pigeon shooting, beautician, train, tennis, croquet, tree house, maze etc etc. James Fletcher was an excellent chef for our Saturday night and roast dinner on Sunday. What a splendid way to celebrate my 70th with my siblings, daughter and granddaughter and nieces and nephews. The youngsters had such a fabulous time in the cottages, away from us oldies. We hope to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail with correct heritage finish
Liked least: Sound system
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
We're delighted that you enjoyed your birthday at The Hyde and that it worked so well for all generations. Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review and if we can ever help you again, please let us know. Best wishes. The Team at The Hyde.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing