We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very chilled weekend & we look forward to coming back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burwood Lodge

Burwood Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burwood Lodge
Ranked #18 of 23 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very chilled weekend & we look forward to coming back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Easy booking over the phone with no deposit requested which was nice but unusual. Betty very welcoming & gave us a lot of tips on the local area/pubs/restaurants etc. We had the room with the 4 poster bed which was airy and clean, lots of storage space, very comfy bed and a lovely ensuite shower room/loo with toiletries provided. Nice large sunny garden with garden table & chairs, table tennis table and chickens! Guest lounge with tv, internet, games and books. Lovely breakfast with more than enough to eat and served by friendly, happy staff. Burwood Lodge is on a busy road and literally only a few minutes walk from the village centre. Plenty of parking out the front which was a bonus. No night time kerfew and we were given a front door key to come and go as we wanted. The only problem we did have was it was a VERY hot weekend (the hottest of the year so far) and because of this we wanted the windows open but the road was very busy and noisy so didn't get much sleep as we were either hot or the road was too noisy but there's nothing that could be done about this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollycat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We are a group of painters and we travelled to Lyndurst on a painting trip. A number of us stayed at Burwood Lodge, as single occupants and in two groups of three. I stayed in one of the family rooms, which has been recently re-furbished to a very high standard. A good selection of beverages, a hairdryer and some toiletries were provided. I understand other rooms are also being updated. Our first floor room was very light and airy, with a view over the garden, which has a seating area, trampoline and other play equipment and a large lawn. In the corner there is an enclosure for the chickens, who have delightful names, such as Henrietta, Margory and Esmy. Inside there is a lounge with a pool table and a breakfast room.

Breakfast included a buffet selection of fruit juices, cereals etc., and a wide choice of cooked breakfasts, incuding a vegetarian option. Service was very prompt. There is very good parking at Burwood Lodge and Lyndhust high street is a few minutes walk away, with its cafes, restuarants, pubs and interesting little shops. There is also a large information centre and a community centre in the main car park. The forest, with its villages, beautiful walks and the New Forest ponies is close by. I recommend The New Forest Inn, in the nearby village of Emery Down for a meal, and a visit to the church at Minstead, where Arthur Conan Doyle is buried, is also worthwhile, but there are many other wonderful places within easy reach of Lyndhusrt.

The couple who run Burwood Lodge are both very pleasant and helpful without being intrusive. The room rate was reasonable for the high standard of accommodation and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Autumn

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Autumn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

My bofriend and I stayed here for a weekend and had the 4 poster room which was wonderful. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and although they were not there when we arrived they had left the key out for us. The breakfast was great, I am vegetarian so it was nice to have a big veggie breakfast. The B&B is centrally located in Lyndhurst and the High Street is just round the corner. It's a great location to explore the New Forest and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

I booked [--] and 5 out of 6 rooms said "minimum 2 nights stay", so I chose the 6th room which did not. The booking was accepted but I had to await confirmation.

My girlfriend and I made plans for our trip in the meantime.

24 hours later I received an email from "Bettyt" which I guess must be Betty. You would think you could get your name right on your email client. She said that they have a policy of 2 nights minimum stay, so my booking was refused.

I called her back and said that their booking system accepted 1 night, and their website [--] has no mention of this policy under their 'Policy' page. She was not interested at all, and refused to make any exception even though it was their fault.

I advised her that I will be writing to those that accredited their guest lodge[--]. She didn't care.

The customer service here is shocking! Stay away from Burwood Lodge!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ericvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burwoodlodge, OWNER at Burwood Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
You cannot please all people all of the time. Unfortunately there is a common miss understanding when people book through The New Forest Tourist Association web site, that this is a secure booking. When in actual fact, by entering your details on this site, you are only making a request for a room. The site will allow this request to take place even though the room has been booked on the door step by a passing guest, as it is already to late to update the system. The site clearly states that the entry is a provisional booking request and people should wait 24 hours for confirmation before leaving for the Hotel/Guest House of their choice. Understandably people are upset when their travel plans have not gone to plan, but I hope that this explanation will help to make future booking easier and lead to more visitors staying at the Hotel/Guest House of their choice and enjoy the beautiful New Forest National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

Making the most of the unusual sunny weather and late autumn colours, we decided last minute to visit the new Forest.

Having phoned many numbers on the newforest tourist website, most places were full - the Burwood only had 1 room avail which was a twin and not a double.

When we arrived, we didn't know what to expect, but were greeted by the owner and she showed us to our room which was actually a room equipped for disabled people. This was a huge ground floor room which overlooked the garden. I've stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world and this room could rival them all.....!

Breakfast the next day had many options including smoked salmon.!

Its a 2 minute walk into the high street with many pubs and restaurants.

A great place to stay and hosts made us very welcome without being too intrusive.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyndhurst hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.0 km away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 km away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Reepham House
Reepham House
#6 of 23 in Lyndhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 km away
Rosedale Bed and Breakfast
Rosedale Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 23 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.4 km away
Acorns of Lyndhurst
Acorns of Lyndhurst
#9 of 23 in Lyndhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burwood Lodge

Property: Burwood Lodge
Address: 27 Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price range (per night): $97 - $114
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burwood Lodge Lyndhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing