We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Hotel(Lyndhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayhill House(Lyndhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rufus House(Lyndhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acres Down House(Lyndhurst)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Avalon House B&B(Lyndhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
62
64
26
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
64
26
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmad hatterbed apartmentsummer weekendchocolate barhigh streetfull englishsteep stairsnew foreststay there againfree car parktea and coffeebigger roomstayed here for one nightrestaurants and pubslovely hoteleasy parkinggood size
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

not the worst place .. but not the best... room was up some steep stairs, it was dated and had a cheep feel .. poor quality shower, slowest kettle in the history of kettles .the room was also a bit cold and noisy due to lack of sound proof windows .

staff where friendly , breakfast was great . location was great for the town ... if it cost £60 a night it would be more realistic than the £98 we where charged.

Room Tip: ask for a room a the rear of the building
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diggerdan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear diggerdan68

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Many Thanks
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We have just had a lovely 2 night stay at the penny farthing. Our original room was on the small side so we asked if we could possibly have a bigger room and were immediately upgraded to a huge flat which was lovely. the staff couldnt have been more helpful and we were so grateful. Breakfast was good and plentiful with as much tea or coffee as we wanted. I would recommend the penny farthing to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richard b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Richard b b,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for your nice comments and happy to upgrade you as per your request.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and our full English breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Susan & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We were a party of four staying for two nights . On arrival we were shown to our room one being at the very top of the building. It was difficult for my Brother to 1 get up to the top and second was the position of the bed. I ask if there was anyway we could change that room and the very nice girl on reception did her best to find us one , which was the Boneshaker we were shown to this room . My husband and I decided to swap to this one and give ours to them as it was much bigger. The boneshaker room has not been updated wallpaper peeling although it was clean , the plumbing is very noisy and in my opinion when it is updated it should only be a single as once in the room there isn't any room to walk around the bed. However we did enjoy our stay the breakfast was very good and all the staff very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annie21Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Annie21Berkshire,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
The hotel was fully booked on this day, we did accommodate your request to be room moved. We also advise you we only had a small double left before you decided to room move.
I am pleased that you found the team to be friendly and professional.

Many Thanks
Susan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Clean, comfortable but basic hotel in central location for New Forest. Excellent breakfast served by friendly, helpful staff. If you can ignor the creaky stairs and noisy plumbing you will enjoy your stay here.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank 693jillh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear 693jillh
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found the team to be friendly and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Susan & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Stayed here for one night. Friendly welcome. Room at the top, spacious and light. Very quiet and a good nights sleep. WiFi connection very weak and only in reception area. Really good location, 5 minute walk, if that, to the high street. Would have like some fruit salad (fruit bowl aviailable) or pastries at breakfast but that's just my personal preference!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuFo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi SuFo63,

Thank you for your review we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the penny farthing hotel.
Susan & the team.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews